GAA – Limerick minors secure third Munster final appearance in a row


Screen shot 2015-07-03 at 09.34.19THE HUNT for Limerick minor’s third Munster hurling title in a row is well and truly still on, following a 1-14 to 0-14 point win over Cork last night at the Gaelic Grounds. Limerick will now face Tipperary on July 12 in Thurles, in what will be the curtain raiser to the Senior hurling final between Tipperary and Waterford.

A crowd of 4,184, saw Limerick’s Peter Casey rattle the Cork net with just two minutes remaining to secure a final spot for Leo O’Connor’s charges. Limerick, current double Munster champions, will be favourites for the final, however Limerick will have a lot to work on, as Cork were wasteful with their scoring chance, seeing them rack up 15 wides.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

The last side to do three in a row was Cork, in 2004/2005/2006.


Scorers for Limerick: P Casey (1-6, four frees), D Carroll, T Grimes and K Hayes (0-2 each), E McNamara (free) and B Ryan (0-1 each).

Scorers for Cork: M Coleman (0-6, four frees), L Healy and D Fitzgibbon (0-2 each), T O’Mahony, C Cormack, D Dalton (65m), S Powter and (0-1 each).

Limerick: E McNamara (Capt); T Hayes, C McSweeney, J O’Grady; C Byrnes, P O’Loughlin, C Houlihan; D Carroll, T Grimes; K Hayes, S Flanagan, B Ryan; P Casey, M Mackey, B Murphy.

Subs: W O’Meara for M Mackey (51), C Boylan for D Carroll (54), O O’Reilly for B Ryan (59), P Ahern for K Hayes (60).

Cork: D Dalton; S Smyth, D Griffin, C McCarthy; M Coleman, E Murphy (Capt), D Lowney; C O’Leary, D Fitzgibbon; L Healy, M O’Halloran, T O’Mahony; S Powter, C Cormack, J Looney.

Subs: J Cashman for C O’Leary (half-time), R O’Flynn for M O’Halloran (42), B Dunne for S Powter (47), B Hennessy for J Looney (53).

Referee: Paul Foley (Waterford).