Golf – Mid West Golf Notes week ending 5/7/15


golfWHO won what and where?

Adare Manor Golf Club

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Tues Singles 23-06 15, 1st John Pomeroy 44pts , 2nd Gary Kirby 42 pts, 3rd Dennis O’ Neill 41pts. Gross ;Aaron Moore 37pts. Captain Sean Moran enjoyed his captains weekend in lovely weather conditions at Adare Manor Golf Club 27th -28th June. The course was in superb condition ,many thanks to the hard working course manager Michael Fitzgerald and course staff.Well done to all who helped make the captains weekend and presentation night so special for the club and for the captains family.Well done Vice- captain Padraig Mann.Congratulations to all who won prizes . 1st Paddy Dineen 45pts, 2nd Michael Ryan (G )45pts, 3rd John McCormack 44pts, Gross Aaron Moore 37 pts. Past Captain’s Paddy Hogan 40pts, 5th Danny O’ Sullivan 41pts, 6th Robert Moloney 40 pts

Ballykisteen Golf Club

Marie Keating Foundation Classic Playoff: A series of qualifying events for the Marie Keating Foundation Classic were held in Ballykisteen GC throughout May and June, culminating in the final playoff held last Sunday. The winners were: 1st:  Cyril O’Neill, Brian Slattery & Noel Ryan 57pts – (entry to Marie Keating Celeb-Am at the K-Club on July 30th) 2nd: Joe O’Donoghue, Ger Finnan & Joe Purcell 54pts – (entry to the Ballykisteen Pro-Am on August 11th). Congratulations to the winners, and thanks to all those who participated in qualifying events for such a worthy cause. Weekend Singles – June 28th, 1st Ken McKenna 39pts hcp 12, 2nd Jani Kivisalmi 38pts hcp 12, 3rd Sean O’Dwyer 37pts hcp 17. Singles and Fourball Matchplay. A reminder to all members that the second round Singles Matchplay fixtures must be completed by the end of June, with the second round of the Fourball Matchplay due for completion by the end of July. Open Singles: Ballykisteen GC welcomes all those interested in playing in the Monday and Wednesday Open Singles competitions. With the weather predicted to be excellent in the coming weeks and the course in great condition, it provides a great opportunity to test your game.

Ballyneety Golf Club Notes

Mens Club: There was a marvellous turnout for Captain Eamonn Mc Grath’s  Captains Prize which was run over Friday & Saturday with a 9 hole playoff on Saturday evening deciding the issue, Denis Healy triumphed with a great score of 64 pts. A great night followed with ceoil agus craic. RESULT, 1st: Denis Healy 64 pts, 2nd: Edmund Meehan 64 pts, 3rd: Alan Mc Namara 62 Pts, Best Gross: Stephren Ryan 57 pts, 5th: Declan Browne  58 pts, 6th: John O Regan 57 pts, 7th: Gerry O Neill 57 pts, 8th: Liam Coughlan  57 pts, 9th: Gerry Kavanagh 57 pts, 10th: Patrick Hogan 56 pts, Past Captain: Walter Shanahan  50 pts. Over 65: Pat Walsh 34 pts, Over 18: Ultain O Nuallain 39 pts, Guest: Finbarr Sheehan 42 pts. Back 9: Eddie O Gorman 23 pts, Front 9: David Neiland 24 pts. Nearest the pin: Christian O Sullivan. Longest Drive: Philip Kennedy. Fixtures: Sat/Sun 4th/5th July: July Medal, kindly sponsored by Geraldines Bar, Open Singles:, 22/06/15 1st: Patrick Naughton  43 pts Limerick GC, 2nd: Cian Healy 42 pts Ballyneety GC, 3rd: Alan Ryan 42 pts Newcastlewest GC. Seniors Club: 23/06/15, Scramble, 1st: Tom Ryan, Vincent Twoomey, Bill Nolan 49.1, 2nd: Tim Smyth, Brendan Lynch, Denis Ryan 50.1. Ladies Club: There was a great turnout for Rosamund Grogan’s Captains Prize with the main prize going to Diane Hannagen with a great score of 38 pts. Result: 1st: Diane Hannagen 38 pts, 2nd: Trish Sims 37 pts, Best Gross: Paula Carroll 36 pts, 3rd: Mary Shanahan 36 pts, 4th: Eithne Hehir 35 pts, 5th: Candy Cheung 35 pts, 6th: Noreen Mc Manus 35 pts, 7th: Finola O Donnell 34 pts, 8th: Liz O Flynn 33 pts, Best 36 H/C: Anna Kureczko 33 pts

Castletroy Golf Club

Tuesday 23rd   June Medal Stroke Competition Sponsored by  Sordillo Chiropractor Centre. 1st Maeve Byrne 71, 2nd Jacqy Hogan 71, Best Gross Shirley Real 78, 3rd Liz Boomsma 73, 4th Dympna Tobin 74, 5th Eileen O Doherty 74. Nine Hole Competition, Mary Fogarty. Just to mention Ena Daly enjoyed a hole in one on the 5th hole ( Par 3). in the aptly named Champagne Scramble Competition. Mens: June 24th, Open Singles: 1st, Joe Neville  40 pts (B6); 2nd, Kevin Dowling  Mallow, 40 pts; 3rd, Eoin Moran  Adare Manor, 40 pts; Gross, Mark Campbell, 38 pts. June 28th, Volkswagen Masters: 1st Gerard Callanan 42 pts (B9);  2nd Darragh McGeown 42 pts;  3rd Peter Fitzgibbon 40 pts (B9); Gross, Andrew McCormack 34 pts. Seniors, June 25th: 1st, Ned Toomey, PJ Gaffney, Michael Kirby, 40 pts. Congratulations to our Mixed Foursomes team on their keenly contested 3/2 victory over Kilkee in the North Munster Final of the Irish Mixed Foursomes Championship at Ennis recently and commiserations to out Barton Shield team who lost narrowly to the host club, Shannon, on Saturday. Diary Date: Sun July 5th, PGA Tankard.

Dromoland Golf Club

18 Holes Singles Stableford, 1st Tony Byrne 40pts, 2nd Alan White 38pts, 3rd John Casey 37pts, Over 18 Mick O’Shea Jnr 37pts. Next weeks competition will be a 3 ball scramble.

Limerick Golf Club

Open Fourball : Results of Sat 27th / Sun 28th June 2015 , 1st Peter Brazil &  Shane O’Donoghue 48 pts, 2nd Declan Barriscale & Martin Leyden 48 pts, 3rd Bernard Collins & Con Kirby 45 pts, 4th Ivan Cawley & Tom Griffin 45 pts. Ladies: The Ladies Played Captains Prize to the Ladies on Tues 23 rd June, 1st Ann O Shaughnessy  40 pts (bk9)
2nd Marie English  40 pts , Best Gross Grainne D’Alton  32, 3rd Bridie Murphy 39 pts (bk9), 4th Mary Kennedy  39 pts, 5th Marion Collins  38 pts (bk9), 6th Deirdre Carmody Moore  38 pts, 7th Deirdre Carroll  37 pts