GAA – Newcastlewest and Na Piarsaigh to fly flag


11 October 2015; Shane Dowling, Na Piarsaigh, takes a free. Limerick County Senior Hurling Championship Final, Patrickswell v Na Piarsaigh. Gaelic Grounds, Limerick. Picture credit: Diarmuid Greene / SPORTSFILENEWCASTLEWEST joined Na Piarsaigh as Limerick’s senior representative sides in this season’s Munster Club championship following their 2-10 to 0-09 win over Drumcollogher-Broadford in Kilmallock last weekend.
The title, which was their third overall and their first since 1992, will see Newcastlewest take on Clonmel Commericals in the Munster Club Football Championship quarter final on Sunday November 1 at a Tipperary venue to be decided.
The Limerick county flag will also be carried into Munster competition this weekend by Na Piarsaigh. The 2015 Limerick Senior hurling champions will face Sixmilebridge of Clare, in Sixmilebridge this Sunday, October 25 at 2pm. The meeting is a repeat of the 2013 Munster club final, in which Na Piarsaigh ran out 4-14 to 0-8 winners. Revenge will very much be on the cards for the Niall Gilligan lead Clare side.

Scorers and teams from SCFC Final.
Newcastle West: John Joe Sheehy; M O’Keeffe, B O’Sullivan, S Browne; M O’Leary (0-01), S Nix, P Hannan; C Sheehan, I Corbett; T Quilligan (0-02), S Kelly (1-03), S Brosnan; J Kelly (0-01), M McMahon, J Lee (1-02).
Subs: S McAuliffe (0-01) for M O’Leary, B Doherty for T Quilligan (0-02), M Quilligan for J Lee, G Reidy for S Brosnan, D Woods for M Mahon.
Dromcollogher-Broadford: G Greaney; D Boyce, G Noonan, B Noonan; M Brosnan, D O’Leary, C Fahy; J Stokes, M O’Sullivan; S Buckley (0-02); P Donnelly (0-01), K Noonan; R Lynch, K Phair (0-05), M Reidy.

Subs: D McCarthy (0-01) for J Stokes, (26mins), G Egan for D Boyce P Madigan for K Noonan