GAA – 2016 Club Championship draws made

9 July 2011; A general view of the Limerick crest on the substitutes seats at Pairc na nGael. GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship Qualifier Round 2, Limerick v Offaly, Gaelic Grounds, Limerick. Picture credit: Stephen McCarthy / SPORTSFILE
Picture credit: Stephen McCarthy / SPORTSFILE

THE DRAWS for the 2016 Limerick club hurling and football championships were made this week and there are some mouth watering groups to look forward to.
In the Senior hurling championships, Group 1 is the hardest looking on paper, with the last two Munster Club champions, Na Piarsaigh and Kilmallock, in the same pot. Doon, South Liberties and Ballybrown will do battle to upset the form.
In Group 2, old rivalries will be renewed as Patrickswell will face Adare, while Ahane will lock horns with Murroe Boher.
The senior football championship is no different as Group 1 seems to be the tougher group to call. Perennial challengers Drom/Broadford will face Ballylanders, St Patricks, St Kierans, Na Piarasigh and newly promoted to senior ranks, Oola
The 2015 champions Newcastlewest will take part in Group 2 alongside Monaleen, Pallasgreen, Rathkeale, Fr Casey’s and Ballysteen.
The full draws for the Senior and Intermediate hurling and football are listed below. Best of luck to all teams.

Limerick Senior Hurling

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Group 1 – Na Piarsaigh, Kilmallock, Doon, Bruree, South Liberties and Ballybrown

Group 2 – Patrickswell, Adare, Bruff, Knockainey, Ahane and Murroe Boher.

Limerick Premier Hurling

Blackrock, Cappamore, Croom, Effin, Feohanagh, Garryspillane, Granagh/Ballingarry and Monaleen.

Limerick Intermediate Hurling

Group 1 – Feenagh Kilmeedy, Newcastlewest, Hospital Herbertstown, Pallasgreen, Mungret and Claughaun.

Group 2 – Knockaderry, Glenroe, Kildimo Pallaskenry, Dromin Athlacca, St Kierans, Drom/Broadford.

Limerick Senior Football

Group 1  – Drom/Broadford, Ballylanders, St Patricks, St Kierans, Oola and Na Piarsaigh.

Group 2 – Newcastlewest, Monaleen, Pallasgreen, Rathkeale, Fr Casey’s and Ballysteen.

Limerick Intermediate Football

Group 1 – Cappamore, Glin, Claughaun, Mungret, Bruff and Galbally.

Group 2 – St Senan’s, Athea, Cappagh, Adare, Mountcollins and Castlemahon.