GAA – Limerick name side to face Tipperary in Thurles


Screen shot 2016-06-17 at 08.32.45THE LIMERICK senior hurling management team have named their starting fifteen for Sunday’s Munster Hurling semi final clash with Tipperary in Thurles. The side, which will be captained by Nickie Quaid, sees four championship debutants. Diarmuid Byrnes, Richie English, Gearoid Hegarty and Barry Nash will all taste Munster Senior Championship action for the first time, at 4pm on Sunday. With only one All Ireland Club winner, Shane Dowling, named on the starting 15, Limerick could yet call on their bench as the game goes on.

Fans and indeed management were surprised to see the team announced on social media last night. (Thursday) The team was due to be announced on Friday night, however both the intermediate and senior sides were announced via the Limerick GAA Twitter page and website.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Notable absentees from the starting fifteen are Richie Mc Carthy, Kevin Downes, Paudie O’Brien and Tom Morrisey who all (bar Downes) played large parts of the league campaign.


Limerick Senior Hurling Team Announced:
1. Captain Nickie Quaid (Effin), 2. Tom Condon (Knockaderry), 3. Dan Morrissey (Ahane), 4. Richie English (Doon), 5. Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell), 6. Gavin O Mahony (Kilmallock), 7. Seamus Hickey (Murroe/Boher), 8. James Ryan (Garryspillane), 9. Paul Browne (Bruff), 10. Gearoid Hegarty (St Patrick’s), 11. Shane Dowling (Na Piarsaigh), 12. Barry Nash (South Liberties), 13. Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock), 14. Declan Hannon (Adare) and 15. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell).

Meanwhile, Intermediate hurling manager Leo O Connor and his selectors Anthony Riordan and Denis Barry has released their starting fifteen for this Sunday’s opening game at Semple Stadium.

The starting fifiteen is as follows 1. Eoghan McNamara (Doon), 2. Mike Casey (Na Piarsaigh), 3. Barry Lynch (Feohanagh), 4. Jody Hannon (Adare), 5. Mark Carmody (Patrickswell)(Captain), 6. Andrew La Touche-Cosgrave (Monaleen), 7. Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen), 8. William O Donoghue (Na Piarsaigh), 9. Lorcan Lyons (Monaleen), 10. David Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh), 11. Mike Fitzgibbon (Feohanagh), 12. Pat Ryan (Doon), 13. Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell), 14. Kevin O’Brien (Patrickswell) and Dean Coleman (Doon).