GAA – Busy time for Limerick hurling

852

Screen shot 2016-06-23 at 10.31.43THE COMING few weeks are a massively busy time for Limerick hurling, with four teams in action.
First up is the reigning All Ireland U/21 champions, who will defend their crown against Cork on Tuesday June 28.
The game, to be played in Pairc Uí Rinn, throws in at 7.30pm. John Kiely’s men can expect to play in a hugely attended clash. At the time of going to press, there was no confirmation from TG4 as to whether they would show the game live, but it is expected to be so.
The following night Wednesday June 29, the Limerick minors, under the watchful eye of Pat Donnelly, will take on Waterford in the Munster semi final. The knock out tie, to be played in Walsh Park, sees Limerick back in action following their quarter final win over Clare on April 6.
The prize at stake for the Limerick minors is the chance to play at home in the Munster final. The Minor final, on July 10, will act as a curtain raiser to the Senior game which this week was confirmed for the Gaelic Grounds.
As if next week was not busy enough, the Limerick senior hurlers are in action on Saturday July 2 as they travel to Westmeath for the first round of the All Ireland Qualifiers.
Limerick defeated Westmeath at the same stage last season, before eventually going out of the championship at the hands of Dublin in Thurles.
Bringing this current round of games to a close will be the Limerick intermediate hurlers who will face Clare in the Munster hurling final on Wednesday July 6.
The final, which will take place at the Gaelic Grounds, will be Limerick hurling’s first chance at silverware in 2016.

Sat-25-Jun
All Ireland SFC Qualifier Round 1
Antrim v Limerick in Corrigan Park – 2pm

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Tues-28-Jun
Munster U-21 HC Quarter-final
Limerick v Cork in Pairc uí Rinn – 7.30pm

Wed-29-Jun
Munster MHC Semi-final
Waterford v Limerick in Walsh Park

Sat-2-Jul
All Ireland SHC Qualifier Round 1
Westmeath v Limerick in Mullingar

Wed-6-Jul
Munster IHC Final
Limerick v Clare – Venue TBC

Sat-9-Jul
All Ireland SHC Qualifiers Round 2
All Ireland SFC Qualifier Round 2

Sun-10-Jul
Munster MHC Final (If Limerick qualify)

Weekend July 23/24
All Ireland MHC Quarter-finals

Sun-24-Jul
All Ireland SHC Quarter-finals