Four Munster players named in Irish Women’s 7s side for Dubai

Ul Bohs and Munster star Louise Galvin will be part of the Ireland 7s side that travel to Dubai for the first leg of the Women's Sevens World Series

THE MUNSTER Women’s Rugby team will be well represented in the opening leg of the Women’s Sevens World Series in Dubai after four players were named in Anthony Eddy’s Irish squad.

UL Bohs duo Louise Galvin and the uncapped Derbhile Nic a Bhaird join Shannon’s Aoife Doyle in the 12-player squad that will play Spain, Fiji and Canada in the tournament that begins on November 30. Tipperary native Amee-Leigh Murphy-Crowe, who plays her club rugby with Railway Union RFC in Dublin, also made the final cut. The side will be captained by Lucy Mulhall.

Nic a Bhaird, is a regular on the wing for Munster and has also been a part of the wider Ireland XV squad over the past number of seasons. Doyle returns to the squad having missed out on a number of tournaments last season through injury.

Four players who were involved in the Women’s Rugby World Cup in Ireland this year, Ashleigh Baxter, Katie Fitzhenry, Galvin and Hannah Tyrrell will also travel to Dubai.

Ahead of the squad’s departure, Eddy said: “I think the squad are really excited about the World Series this year and having shown some good improvement the last couple of seasons we will be looking to build on that throughout the series.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

“We’re drawn with Canada, Fiji and Spain, and we know what those sides will bring to each game. Fiji are first up, so we’ll be focusing on that and looking to get the tournament off to a positive start.

“The Dubai Sevens is always a great event to start off the World Rugby World Series – there’s always a festival atmosphere and there’s usually a good turnout of Irish supporters over the weekend, so I know the players are looking forward to getting over there and getting the season underway.”

Ireland Women’s 7s – Dubai 7s, Sevens Stadium, Dubai – 30 November / 1 December 2017

Ashleigh Baxter (Cooke RFC /Ulster)

Claire Boles (Railway Union RFC/Ulster)

Aoife Doyle (Shannon RFC & Railway Union RFC/Munster)

Katie Fitzhenry (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster)

Stacey Flood (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)

Louise Galvin (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)

Eve Higgins (Railway Union RFC/Leinster)*

Lucy Mulhall (Rathdrum RFC)

Amee-Leigh Murphy-Crowe (Railway Union RFC/Munster)

Deirbhile Nic a Bhaird (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)*

Audrey O’Flynn (Ireland Sevens)

Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere RFC/Leinster)

*Denotes uncapped at this level

Ireland Women’s 7s – Dubai 7s Fixtures – Pool C

Thursday November 30, 2017

Fiji v Ireland – 12:00pm (local time)/4:00pm (Irish time)

Canada v Ireland – 3:18pm (local time)/7:18pm (Irish time)

Ireland v Spain – 5:53pm (local time)/9:53pm (Irish time)

Friday 1st December 2017