HomeNewsMagnificent Munchin's end Junior Cup famine with victory over CBC

Magnificent Munchin’s end Junior Cup famine with victory over CBC


ST MUNCHIN’S are Munster Schools Junior Cup champions for the first time in 20 years after a 15-10 win over CBC at Thomond Park yesterday.

Tries from Graham Kirwan and a sensational effort from Alex Wood (son of Munster and Irish legend Keith), as well as five points from the boot of Darragh Long saw the Corbally school to victory.

CBC also crossed the whitewash through George Coomber but his second effort came too late to dent the St Munchin’s party.

The Ger Slattery coached side went in front after an intense period of pressure through a Long penalty after Liam Neilan came close to opening the try scoring.

CBC weren’t long in responding and went in front in the 19th minute through Coomber. The powerful CBC pack carried hard at the Munchin’s defence and it was Coomber who took advantage of an overlap to score in the right corner.

It looked like the Cork side were going in at the break ahead but Munchins’ pressure eventually told with Kirwan’s try following a brilliant run down the left wing by Conor O’Shaughnessy.

The three point advantage St Munchin’s had at half-time was soon at 10 thanks to Wood’s individual effort.

He gained possession 45 metres from the CBC goal and took off on a run that saw him beat three defenders and then outpace another to score a truly wonderful try. Long added the easy conversion to put Munchin’s firmly in control.

A second Coomber effort briefly worried the Limerick school late on but they managed to stave off their advances to win their first Munster Schools Junior Cup since 1998.

ST MUNCHIN’S: Josh Egan; Joshua Costello, Darragh Long, Seamus McCarthy Burbage, Conor O’Shaughnessy; Alex Wood, Donnchadh O’Callaghan; Kean Sheehy, Joachim Clohessy, Kieran Ryan; Louis McCormack, Graham Kirwan; Dylan Higgins, Evan Hickey, Liam Neilan; Replacements: Morgan Bateman for Ryan (50 mins).

CBC: George Coomber; Jack McGrath, Daire Burke, Patrick O’Hara, Ben McGarry; Andrew O’Mahony, Eoin Birchall; Alan McDonald, Luke McAuliffe, Corey Hanlon; Mark Ludgate, James Morrison; Patrick McBarron, Dylan O’Connor, Ronan O’Sullivan; Replacements:  Wanfred Waterman for McDonald (36 mins), Tom McCarthy for O’Mahony (37 mins), Jason Ahern for McBarron (43 mins), David McPolin for McGrath (47 mins), Gavin Kennedy for Hanlon (52 mins).

Referee: Ken Imbusch (MAR)

- Advertisment -

Must Read