Ryan forces his way in for Limerick after Clare heroics

Colin Ryan in the act of scoring the winning free against Clare. He starts against Tipperary. Photo: Diarmuid Greene/Sportsfile

PALLASGREEN’S Colin Ryan has been rewarded for his superb performance off the bench against Clare by being named in the starting lineup for Limerick’s crunch Allianz Hurling League semi final in Thurles this evening.

Ryan scored 0-3 during regular time after coming on for Paul Browne in the Clare game and also sent over two ’65’s in sudden death free taking competition that sealed Limerick’s spot in the last four.


That is the only change that John Kiely has made to the team that beat Clare after he resisted the temptation to rush his Na Piarsaigh contingent following their defeat to Cuala in the All-Ireland Club Senior Hurling Final replay last weekend.The game in Thurles throws in at 7pm and is live on TG4.

Kiely has also been boosted by the return to fitness of Barry Nash after he missed the entire group stage of the league. He is named among Limerick’s subs.

Limerick: Nickie Quaid (Effin); Sean Finn (Bruff), Seamus Hickey (Murroe-Boher), Richie English (Doon); Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell), Declan Hannon (Adare), Dan Morrissey (Ahane); Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen), Cian Lynch (Patrickswell); Gearoid Hegarty (St Patrick’s), Kyle Hayes (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Tom Morrissey (Ahane); Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell), Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh-Castlemahon), Barry Murphy (Doon); Replacements: Barry Hennessy (Kilmallock), Tom Condon (Knockaderry), Richie McCarthy (Blackrock), Paul Browne (Bruff), Pat Ryan (Doon), David Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca), Barry O’Connell (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock), Paddy O’Loughlin (Kilmallock), Barry Nash (South Liberties), William O’Meara (Askeaton).