All-Ireland glory for Limerick Lions U-14 Basketball team

Limerick Lions U-14 All-Ireland Winners. Front Row left to right. Steven Shaw, Michael Fahy, Christy Carroll, Alan Fitzgerald, Liam Price, Adam Lengen. Back Row left to right: Pierce O'Rahilly, Joey Fogarty, Vincent Uzomefuna, Liam Finn, Alfie McCoy, Janis Pliesmanis, Nathan Stanners. Coaches: Brendan Kelly and Foncie McCoy

Limerick Lions U-14 team are All-Ireland B Basketball champions for 2018 after a 37 – 28 victory against Killarney Cougars in Tralee.

Having overcome the challenges of Kilkenny Stars, Letterkenny Blaze and Castleblayney Muckno Lakers to reach the final game, they faced an impressive Killarney outfit.

The decider was a tight affair but the Limerick team came out on top thanks to a strong second half of basketball

The Lions led 11-9 at the end of the first quarter with Vincent Uzomefuna, Nathan Stanners and Alfie McCoy on the scoresheet.

The sides went basket for basket in a low scoring second quarter with scores from Liam Finn, Janis Pliesmanis and Alan Fitzgerald bringing the score to 17-15 in the Lions’ favour.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

In the third quarter, the Lions took firm control with Uzomefuna and two baskets each for Stanners, McCoy and Pliesmanis helping the Limerick side to a 24 – 18 advantage with one period remaining of basketball remaining.

The Lions showed no let up in the final quarter with Pliesmanis (three pointer), McCoy, Stanners and Uzomefuna on target again to seal the nine point win.

The AICC Cup was presented to McCoy at the end of the game in jubilant scenes for players and their sizeable support.

Top Scorers for the Lions in the final were as follows – Stanners 10, Pliesmanis 9, McCoy 7 and Uzomefuna 7, Liam Finn 2, Alan Fitzgerald 2.