HomeNewsMurphy goal seals Limerick win over Tipperary in Munster opener

Murphy goal seals Limerick win over Tipperary in Munster opener


A Barry Murphy goal late on sealed a 1-23 to 2-14 win for John Kiely’s Limerick over Tipperary as the new look Munster Senior Hurling Championship got underway at the Gaelic Grounds.

Limerick were a point down at the break but managed to deservedly come out on top with Murphy’s strike the cherry on top.

Kiely’s men were by far the better team for large parts but the concession of needless frees allowed Tipperary’s free taker Jason Forde keep his side in touch.

Two points each from Aaron Gillane and Graeme Mulcahy had Limerick a point clear after 18 minutes but Dan McCormack’s ground strike past Nickie Quaid put Tipperary ahead.

Limerick regrouped to lead through Tom Morrissey’s point on the half hour but Forde’s accuracy from placed balls had Tipperary 1-10 to 0-12 ahead at half time.

The home side cut out the soft frees after the break and were three clear on 50 minutes when Diarmaid Byrnes landed a ’65 but Forde pounced to level for the game for the 14th time with Tipperary’s second goal.

Limerick didn’t panic and finished strongly with Gillane and Cian Lynch points putting them ahead again.

Another ’65 from Byrnes followed and Gearoid Hegarty’s second point put Limerick three clear before Murphy’s goal ensured a victory for Limerick.

Scorers – Limerick: Aaron Gillane 0-8 (6fs), Graeme Mulcahy 0-4, Barry Murphy 1-0, Diarmaid Byrnes 0-3 (1f, 2 ‘65s) Tom Morrissey, Cian Lynch and Gearoid Hegarty 0-2 each, Seamus Flanagan and Darragh O’Donovan 0-1 each; Tipperary: Jason Forde 1-9 (9fs), Dan McCormack 1-0, John McGrath and Noel McGrath 0-2, John O’Dwyer 0-1.

Limerick: Nickie Quaid; Sean Finn, Seamus Hickey, Richie English; Diarmaid Byrnes, Declan Hannon, Dan Morrissey; Darragh O’Donovan, Cian Lynch; Gearoid Hegarty, Kyle Hayes, Tom Morrissey; Aaron Gillane, Seamus Flanagan, Graeme Mulcahy; Subs: Barry Murphy for Mulcahy (54 mins), David Dempsey for Morrissey (54 mins), Mike Casey for Hickey (56 mins), Pat Ryan for Flanagan (62 mins), Paul Browne for O’Donovan (67 mins).

Tipperary: Brian Hogan; Alan Flynn, Seamus Kennedy, Donagh Maher; Barry Heffernan, Padraic Maher, Ronan Maher; Willie Connors, Billy McCarthy; Dan McCormack, Noel McGrath, Sean Curran; John O’Dwyer, Jason Forde, John McGrath; Subs: Sean O’Brien for D Maher (43 mins), Brendan Maher for Connors (50 mins), Seamus Callinan for Curran (53 mins), Patrick Maher for McCarthy (66 mins).

Referee: James McGrath (Westmeath)

- Advertisment -

Must Read

Limerick councillors hard pressed over mayor’s media briefing

COUNCILLORS expressed frustration with Mayor John Moran for holding a press conference last week during their monthly meeting. Council Príomh Chomhairleoir Dan McSweeney (FG) took...