Limerick remain in second place following Wexford draw

Darren Murphy celebrates his goal Limerick FC v Wexford FC at Market's Field. Photo: Cian Reinhardt/Limerick Post

Limerick FC and Wexford FC played out an entertaining 1-1 draw at the Markets Field on Friday night. The result means that the Super Blues finish the night in second place in the first division.

#Limerick dominated possession in the first half but were unable to create outside of long range efforts which were comfortably dealt with by Corey Chambers in the Wexford goal.

Wexford had the first big chance of the game as seasoned campaigner Danny Furlong released former Limerick player Jack Doherty but the midfielder totally miskicked his effort when he should have hit the target.

As half time approached, the home side had two big chances. Firstly, Karl O’Sullivan crossed for Sean McSweeney but his header was cleared off the line.

Secondly. a poor attempted headed clearance from Sean Callan fell to Shaun Kelly, but the right-back dragged his right footed effort wide.

Early in the second period, Wexford took the lead when Sean McSweeney surrendered possession in midfield and winger Emmett Nugent drove towards goal and rounded Jack Brady before placing the ball into an empty net.

Limerick responded superbly and equalised within two minutes when Connor Ellis teed up Darren Murphy at the edge of the box and the midfielder smashed the ball past Chambers.

Limerick felt they had genuine appeals for a penalty waved away when Connor Ellis appeared to be fouled in the box. To add insult to injury, Ellis was booked for simulation.

As Limerick pushed for a winner, they were restricted to shots from distance and Shane Tracy’s effort sailed over the crossbar.

Tracy had a last gasp chance when he stooped to head an Ellis cross goalwards but his header was wide.

Limerick now face two consecutive away games against Shelbourne and Longford Town.

Limerick FC: Jack Brady, Shaun Kelly, Robbie Williams, Killian Brouder, Shane Tracy, Darren Murphy, Jason Hughes, Sean McSweeney, Karl O’Sullivan (Kieran Hanlon), Colm Walsh-O’Loughlen (Ger Barry), Connor Ellis.

Wexford FC: Corey Chambers, Owen McCormack, Sean Callan, Daragh O’Connor, Lee Costello, Paddy Cahill, Ryan Nolan (Chris Kenny), Jack Doherty, Emmett Nugent, Danny Doyle (Thomas Croke), Danny Furlong

The post Limerick remain in second place following Wexford draw appeared first on Sporting Limerick.