WATCH: Limerick name team for Munster Championship opener with Cork


Limerick senior hurling manager has made one change from the team that landed All-Ireland glory last August for Sunday’s Munster Championship opener against Cork at the LIT Gaelic Grounds.

Peter Casey coming in for Seamus Flanagan is the solitary switch on the starting 15. Casey comes in at corner forward, with Aaron Gillane moving to full forward.


Elsewhere, Nickie Quaid continues in goals, with Sean Finn, Mike Casey and Richie English in the full back line.

The solid half back line of Diarmaid Byrnes, Declan Hannon and Dan Morrissey remains in place, as does the duo of Cian Lynch and Darragh O’Donovan in midfield.

GAA All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Final, Croke Park, Dublin 19/8/2018
Galway vs Limerick
Limerick’s captain Declan Hannon lifts the Liam McCarthy Cup
Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/James Crombie

Gearoid Hegarty, Kyle Hayes and Tom Morrissery make up the half forward line, with Graeme Mulcahy starting with Gillane and Peter Casey in the full forward line.

The full panel is as follows:

1: Nickie Quaid (Effin)

2: Sean Finn (Bruff)

3: Mike Casey (Na Piarsaigh)

4: Richie English (Doon)

5: Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell)

6: Declan Hannon (Adare) (Captain)

7: Dan Morrissey (Ahane)

8: Cian Lynch (Patrickswell)

9: Darragh O’Donovan (Doon)

10: Gearoid Hegarty (St Patrick’s)

11: Kyle Hayes (Kildimo-Pallaskenry)

12: Tom Morrissey (Ahane)

13: Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh)

14: Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell)

15: Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock)

Subs: 16: Barry Hennessy (Kilmallock), 17: David Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh), 18: Shane Dowling (Na Piarsaigh), 19: Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh-Castlemahon), 20: Robbie Hanley (Kilmallock), 21: Barry Murphy (Doon), 22: Barry Nash (South Liberties), 23: William O’Donoghue (Na Piarsaigh), 24: Paddy O’Loughlin (Kilmallock), 25: William O’Meara (Askeaton-Ballysteen), 26: David Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca).

The post WATCH: Limerick name team for Munster Championship opener with Cork appeared first on Sporting Limerick.