Limerick Hurling Team of the Decade: Full Forward


The decade that was 2010-2019 is fast coming to an end.

For the Limerick hurlers, it was a mixed decade that started with a protest but would ultimately deliver a first All-Ireland title in 45 years.

Overall, Limerick won one All-Ireland title, Two Munster Championships, a Division 1 League Title and A Division 2 League title.

Over the next fifteen days in the lead up to Christmas, I will select my team of the decade that saw Limerick play 40 championship games and 68 League games.

Already we have had our Goalkeeper;

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Right Corner BackFull Back & Left Corner Back,

Right Half-BackCentre Back Left Half Back;

On Christmas Day Cian Lynch and Paul Browne were named in midfield;

We had our right wing forwardcentre forward & left wing forward;

Earlier Aaron Gillane was named in the corner with our full forward below!

Full Forward

Shane Dowling

Na Piarsaigh


GAA All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Final, Croke Park, Dublin 19/8/2018
Galway vs Limerick
Limerick’s Shane Dowling celebrates scoring his sides third goal
Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne

Honours: All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship, 2x Munster Senior Hurling Championship, Division 1 League Title, U21 Munster Championship, All-Star.

Not only is Dowling Limerick’s top scorer of the decade, he holds the all-time record for his county, overtaking Gary Kirby with his haul of 0-15 on June 10, 2018.

Dowling’s accuracy from both play and frees has been a constant for Limerick since his debut in 2012.

Arriving on the scene with much promise after his exploits for Ard Scoil Rí, Dowling quickly delivered, establishing himself as the team’s go to forward in his first season.

In 2014, he won his one and only as Limerick fell to Kilkenny in the All-Ireland semi-final.

Limerick’s breakthrough in 2018 would not have been possible if not for Dowling’s interjection in the semi-final against Cork.

Coming into the play with Limerick six points down, Dowling shot 1-4 from the bench to fire his team into the final.

He followed this with the crucial third goal in the final as Limerick finally climbed the steps of the Hogan Stand.

His performances for Na Piarsaigh this decade have also been very noticeable as he has claimed five county titles, four Munster titles and an All-Ireland Club Championship in 2016.

Honourable Mentions: Kevin Downes

Dowling’s clubmate Downes has been a part of the Limerick team since 2011, memorably recovering from an ACL tear in late 2016 to tog out for the All-Ireland final in 2018.

The post Limerick Hurling Team of the Decade: Full Forward appeared first on Sporting Limerick.