Defeat to Clare sees Limerick minor footballers bow out of the Munster Championship

LIMERICK are out of the Munster MFC following a 4-20 to 1-10 defeat to Clare in last nights semi final at the LIT Gaelic Grounds.

Joe Lee’s side struggled to get to grips with a classy Clare outfit that were full value for their emphatic victory. They led from start to finish with Dylan O’Brien’s goal on 25 seconds putting them in front.

A second Clare goal from Craig Riordan helped Clare even further ahead at half time (2-7 to 0-4). All of Limerick’s first half scores came from the boot of corner forward David O’Shaughnessy.

Limerick made a brighter start to the second half but two Cillian McGroary goals in three minutes copper fastened the Banner’s dominance.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

O’Shaughnessy continued to lead the charge, along with Cathal O’Mahony, Zach McCarfthy and Darragh Bridgeman. The latter eventually got reward for his tireless work with a goal from an injury time penalty.

Ballysteen’s O’Shaughnessy finished with nine of Limerick’s 10 points. Clare go on to play Kerry in next Tuesday’s final.

Limerick Scorers – David O’Shaughnessy 0-9 (6f), Darragh Bridgeman 1-0 (pen), Gary Sheehan 0-1.

Limerick: Kevin Lane; Zach McCarthy, Frank Corcoran, Sean Ryan; Eoin McGrath, Cathal O’Mahony, Sam Quigley; Padhraic McMahon, Daragh Murray; Paddy Kennedy, James Killian, Michael O’Mahony; Darragh Bridgeman, Diarmuid Dennehy, David O’Shaughnessy; Subs: Oisin Enright for Dennehy (30), Liam O’Donnell for Killian (30), Adrian Kearns for McMahon (33), Gary Sheehan for McGrath (49), Oisin Moss for McCarthy (54).

The post Defeat to Clare sees Limerick minor footballers bow out of the Munster Championship appeared first on Sporting Limerick.