English and O’Neill fire Limerick into Munster U-20 Hurling Final

Adam English-Limerick Photo by David Fitzgerald/Sportsfile

LIMERICK are into the 2021 Munster U-20 Hurling Final following a comprehensive 1-27 to 0-17 victory over Clare at the LIT Gaelic Grounds this evening.

Adam English powered over 1-6 in a sensational display, while Cathal O’Neill also hit the high notes with an 11 point haul himself.

Diarmuid Mullins’ men always seemed to have too much for Clare although the sides were level at the first water break at 0-4 each.

Limerick fired over the next four points after the break with O’Neill putting over three frees and English also getting in on the act.

Patrick Kirby hit Limerick’s 10th score before three on the bounce from O’Neill, Jimmy Quilty and Colin Coughlan saw Limerick to a 0-13 to 0-4 advantage at half time.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Clare got as close as five points to Limerick in the second half but there was only ever going to be one winner with O’Neill deadly from placed balls. English and Aidan O’Connor led the charge from play to see Limerick 0-22 to 0-13 in front heading into the final 10 minutes.

That’s when English capped off an immaculate performance with a stunning solo goal that helped Limerick to the 13 point winning margin. Limerick will play Cork or Tipperary in the final with their fixture taking place tomorrow night.

Scorers – Limerick: Cathal O’Neill 0-11 (8f), Adam English 1-6, Aidan O’Connor 0-4, Jimmy Quilty and Cathal Downes 0-2 each, Patrick Kirby and Colin Coughlan 0-1 each

LIMERICK: Conor O’Neill (Ballybrown); Chris Thomas (Doon), Padraig Harnett (Ahane), Michael Keane (Adare); Enda McEvoy (Na Piarsaigh), Colin Coughlan (Ballybrown), Cormac Ryan (Doon); Jimmy Quilty (Blackrock, captain), Patrick Kirby (Patrickswell); Diarmuid Hegarty (St Patrick’s); Cathal O’Neill (Crecora-Manister), Adam English (Doon); Bryan Nix (Newcastle West), Aidan O’Connor (Ballybrown), Donnacha O Dalaigh (Monaleen).

Subs: Cathal Downes (Kildimo-Pallaskenry) for Kirby (37), Eddie Stokes (Doon) for Hegarty (42), Ronan Fox (Shane) for O Dalaigh (42), Liam Lynch (Mungret St Pauls) for Nix (50), Patrick Reale (Knockainey) for English (55).

The post English and O’Neill fire Limerick into Munster U-20 Hurling Final appeared first on Sporting Limerick.