Treaty United set up UCD play-off date with final day victory


TREATY United will host UCD in the Airtricity League Promotion/Relegation series following Friday night’s 0-2 victory over Cabinteely at Stradbrook. Second half goals from substitutes Willie Armshaw and Josh Quinlivan provided Tommy Barrett’ side with their first victory over their Dublin opponents this season and ended the regulation season on a high.

Treaty made several changes to the team with Clyde O’Connell, Alan Murphy, Kieran Hanlon, Jack Lynch and Steven Christopher coming into the starting 11 following the defeat to UCD. There was a real end of season feeling to the game in the first quarter with neither side showing a lot of urgency in attack.

Hanlon fashioned the first chance of the game as showed great strength to hold off the challenge of Jamin Nwanza but he blazed over from close range. Four minutes later, Jack Hudson headed Keith Dalton’s cross over the bar. There was panic in the Treaty defence when Niall Barnes beat the challenge of Fleming before squaring for Ben Feeney but the midfielder took a poor touch and allowed O’Connell to intercept and clear.

Willie Armshaw scored his fourth goal of the season on Friday night (Credit Skyview Photography)

Moments later, Ryan was alert once more to save a shot from Destiny Idele who latched onto a Dalton cross. Tommy Barrett made a host of changes at half-time as he changed the whole midfield area introducing Sean McSweeney, Joe Collins and Matt Keane in place of Clyde O’Connell, Jack Lynch and Charlie Fleming.

The visitors looked better following the substitutions with more impetus and ideas in attack but it was the home side who fashioned the first chance as a poor clearance from Treaty fell to Dalton at the edge of the area but Ryan easily saved his low drive.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Five minutes later, the Limerick side made their first chance with Armshaw replacing Hanlon and within seconds, the winger cut in from the left-hand side and received possession from George before unleashing a superb shot beyond Adam Hayden to brighten the game.

Sean Guerins has returned to the side to great effect in recent weeks in time for the play-offs

Cabinteely’s response was instant as Niall Barnes flashed a curling shot just wide. With twenty minutes remaining, Treaty endured two scares as Mark Walsh cleared Barnes shot off the line before captain Daniel Blackbyrne attempted an ambitious overhead kick from the edge of the box which travelled just wide. Eoin McPhillips long range free-kick was watched all the way by Ryan as it sailed wide with time running out for Pat Devlin’s men.

Sean Guerins produced a superb piece of defending in the last minute to deny Sean McDonald’s header with a goal-line clearance following a Dean Casey cross.

With Cabo desperate for an equaliser, they pushed everybody forward including goalkeeper Hayden but once the ball was cleared, substitute Josh Quinlivan was quickest to react to take the ball forward and roll it from distance into an empty net to seal the victory and end a very positive 27 game season on a high.

Tommy Barrett has plenty of selection headaches ahead of next week’s play off

Thankfully, Treaty can now look forward to a bumper attendance at the Markets Field next week as they host UCD in the first of two legs. The second leg will be played five days later on Sunday at the Belfield Bowl. It has been a tremendous achievement by Tommy Barrett and his squad to reach this stage considering the team was formed just eight months ago.

Barrett’s team selection for the home leg will be interesting with competition in several areas but particularly in midfield and in wide areas. Dean George, Matt Keane, Willie Armshaw and Joel Coustrain have all featured on the wings with Keane the only certainty to start.

Cabinteely: Adam Hayden, Mitchell Byrne (Sean McDonald 78), Daniel Blackbyrne, Jamin Nwanza, Eoin Massey, Eoin McPhillips, Ben Feeney, Jack Hudson, Keith Dalton, Niall Barnes, Destiny Idele (Sean McLean 70)

Treaty United: Tadgh Ryan, Charlie Fleming (Matt Keane 46), Sean Guerins, Clyde O’Connell (Joe Collins 46), Alan Murphy, Mark Walsh, Jack Lynch (Sean McSweeney 46), Steven Christopher, Joel Coustrain (Josh Quinlivan 90), Dean George, Kieran Hanlon (William Armshaw 61)

The post Treaty United set up UCD play-off date with final day victory appeared first on Sporting Limerick.