RESULTS | Caherline and St Kierans set up Limerick Junior A Hurling Championship Final


CAHERLINE and St Kierans will face off in the Junior A Hurling Championship final after coming through their respective semi-finals.

The final of the Junior A Championship will see the teams face off in Kilmallock on November 13 at 2pm.

Caherline were the first team into the final with a 1-13 to 0-13 win over St Patricks on Friday evening. St Kierans joined them by virtue of a 2-12 to 0-14 win against Ballybricken Bohermore on Saturday afternoon.

On Friday, Caherline and St Pats exchanged the first six scores of the afternoon to go into the first water break level.

The sides were level at 0-4 apiece before three on the trot from the city side had them 0-7 to 0-4 ahead at the short whistle.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Pats continued in this vein as they moved six clear with 35 minutes on the clock.

Andrew Brennan replied with a pair of frees for Caherline but they still trailed by five at the final waterbreak.

Brenna added two more for the East side but they were replied to with Pats leading 0-13 to 0-18 with seven to play.

But crucially, St Pats wouldn’t score again as Caherline took over down the home stretch.

Brennan had their ninth point of the day before Aaron Power goaled to pull them within one with less than five minutes to play. A Brennan free a minute later pulled them level.

Caherline took the lead for the first time since the 7th minute in injury time before Paraic Wixted moved them two clear. Brennan added the insurance score as Caherline moved into the final for the first time since 2007.

They will be joined by St Kierans after they had four points to spare against Ballybricken Bohermore on Saturday afternoon.

A brilliant first half set the scene for St Kieran as they took a 2-9 to 0-7 lead into the half.

Kierans began with a flurry as they quickly raced into a 0-4 to 0-1 lead inside the first ten minutes. The West side had their first goal of the day after 11 minutes with their lead established at 1-6 to 0-2 at the first water break.

A scramble led to Kieran’s second green flag after 21 minutes helped them into an eight point advantage at the short whistle.

St Kierans furthered their lead to ten in the third quarter holding a 2-12 to 0-8 lead at the final waterbreak.

Ballybricken Bohermore launched a late comeback and kept their opponents scoreless in the final quarter but it proved too little too late as six unanswered wasn’t enough for the East side as Kieran’s moved into the final.

They will look to emulate the success of 2012 when they were crowned champions.

The post RESULTS | Caherline and St Kierans set up Limerick Junior A Hurling Championship Final appeared first on Sporting Limerick.