Doon land third Premier U-21 Hurling Championship in a row


DOON are Premier U-21 hurling champions for the third time in a row following a 3-19 to 1-14 win over Na Piarsaigh at the TUS Gaelic Grounds.

Limerick underage star Adam English was the star of the show for Doon – the 18-year-old starlet struck 1-11 (1-6 from play) in an inspiring performance.

Joint captain of the team, Jack Ryan, chipped in with 2-1 in a game that Doon dominated for large periods.

James Daly gave Na Piarsiagh a fast start with a point after just eight seconds but a long range point from Cormac Ryan and a stunning solo goal from English put Doon on the path to victory.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Doon actually hit 1-4 without reply before Na Piarsaigh registered their second point through Keith Dempsey.

However, the response from the east Limerick side was both instant and devastating as Ryan buried their second goal on 14 minutes that put them eight ahead.

Na Piarsaigh rallied after the first water break with Dylan Lynch, Dempsey, Dylan Skehan (2) and Sean Long hitting the target to cut Doon’s advantage to three.

English steadied Doon before the break with two points that saw his side 2-6 to 0-7 in front going into the second half.

Doon Joint Captains Chris Berkery and Jack Ryan lift the trophy after the 3-19 to 1-14 win

Na Piarsaigh sent over the first three points of the second half but Ryan’s second goal five minutes in effectively sealed their fate.

Lynch did manage to give Na Piarsaigh some hope going into the final 10 minutes but Doon always had enough in the tank with English finishing the game in style with the final three points.

Scorers – Doon: Adam English 1-11 (5f), Jack Ryan 2-1, Bob Purcell 0-4, Cormac Ryan 0-2, Cian O’Donovan 0-1.

Scorers – Na Piarsaigh: Keith Dempsey 0-6 (4f, ’65), Dylan Lynch 1-1, Dylan Skehan and Sean Long 0-2 each, James Daly, Justin Norden and Adam McNamara 0-1 each.

Doon: Daire Ryan; Sean Maher, Chris Thomas, Aiden Purcell; Kevin Maher, Cormac Ryan, Luke Heuston; Chris Berkery, Cian O’Donovan; Bob Purcell, Eddie Stokes, Tomas Lynch; Adam Crowe, Adam English, Jack Ryan.

Subs: Sean Moloney for Crowe (41), Cormac Ryan for Berkery (48), Sean Sweeney for Lynch (59).

Na Piarsaigh: Robin Ryan Blake; Jim Beary, Mark O’Connor, Steven Mitchell; Vince Harrington, Emmet McEvoy, Matthew De Courcey; JJ Carey, Adam McNamara; Dylan Skehan, Keith Dempsey, John Fitzgerald; James Daly, Juston Norden, Sean Long.

Subs: Mark Daly for O’Connor (6, inj), Dylan Lynch for Mitchell (17), Wayne Kearns for Daly (32), Marcus Hogan for Skehan (48), Pa O’Neill for Norden (60).

Referee: Johnny Murphy (Ballylanders/Glenroe)

The Doon panel that saw off Na Piarsaigh in the Premier U-21 Hurling Final.

The post Doon land third Premier U-21 Hurling Championship in a row appeared first on Sporting Limerick.