24 Limerick schools included in Summer Works Scheme


17 primary and seven secondary schools in Limerick will benefit from the €65 million approved by Education Minister Norma Foley for this year’s Summer Works Scheme.

Over €2.5 million was allocated to schools in the city and county and the money will go towards mechanical, electrical and external works, window replacement, roof repairs and improvements to science laboratories.

Primary schools included in the scheme are Croagh, Templeglantine, Bruree, Monagea, Fedamore, Cloverfield, Scoil Naomh Iosaf, Abbeyfeale Boys, Scoil Padraig Naofa, Scoil Athain, Scoil Naomh Iosaf, Scoil Cathair Chinn Lis, Scoil O’Curain, Scoil Chriost Ri, An Modh Scoil.

Secondary schools approved for inclusion are Scoil Mhuire agus Íde, Colaiste Mhuire, Desmond College, Hazelwood College, Castletroy College, Coláiste Iósaef, John the Baptist Community School.

Minister Foley said she was announcing the projects now so that the schools have a good lead-in period to plan and deliver the projects during the summer months.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

“A key priority is to sustain the operation of schools in the context of Covid-19 and I am particularly pleased that the cohort of projects will help in managing ventilation in schools.

“Other projects includes investment in science labs, electrical and mechanical works as well as repairs and improvements to external yards and play areas.

“The provision of fun and engaging outside play areas is equally important in helping our students and young learners engage with each other in a Covid-19 environment,” Minister Foley added.

Limerick Fianna Fáil TD and Minister of State Niall Collins said that the Summer Work allocation was a significant investment in Limerick schools and the €2.5 million would make a huge contribution to the local economy and help boost local employment.

The Summer Works Scheme follows on from the €62 million enhanced minor works funding which was delivered to schools in recent weeks.