Four left in the running for football championship

Adare and Ballylanders contested the 2020 Senior Football Final.

JUST four teams remain in the chase for the Irish Wire Products Limerick Senior Football Championship with both semi-finals scheduled for Sunday October 23.  

As group winners Newcastle West and Adare were already through to the last four, the pair were joined at the weekend by Fr Casey’s of Abbeyfeale and Monaleen, who registered wins over Kildimo/Pallaskenry and St Kieran’s (Ardagh/Carrigkerry, Kilcolman/Coolcappagh), respectively. 

Following the semi-final draw, Newcastle West have been paired with Monaleen and Adare with their west rivals Fr Casey’s.

As anticipated, Fr Casey’s were easy 1-14 to 0-8 winners against Kildimo/Pallaskenry in Newcastle West and under the management of John Colbert have found top scoring form this season through Rory O’Brien, Dylan Quirke, Martin Scannell, and David Ward, while county performer Adrian Enright is another who has impressed across the last few months. 

It’s been an age since Fr Casey’s last appeared in the business end of a championship with the club last winning in 2006. 

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

County legend Muris Gavin heads-up Monaleen management, and he will – with just 14 players for the closing-half – be thrilled to have squeezed past St Kieran’s (0-9 to 0-6) in Bruff. Thanks for the win greatly to the scoring exploits of the ageless Ger Collins and county ace Brian Donovan, while young Donnacha Ó Dálaigh is another currently in tremendous fettle. The team were last in the winners’ enclosure six years ago. 

Kilfinane staged the relegation final on Sunday in which survival specialists Ballylanders overcame deadly rivals Galbally in an often tetchy affair that went to extra-time. 

In the Grifffin’s Coaches Intermediate Football Championship, the semi-final pairings are: Mungret St Paul’s v Na Piarsaigh (Saturday in Claughaun, 3pm) and on Sunday week in Newcastle West it’s Dromcollogher/Broadford v St Senan’s (Foynes/Shanagolden), who eliminated hugely fancied Gerald Griffin’s (Loughill/Ballyhahill), 0-10 to 1-5, in their quarter-final clash at Seán Finn Park, Rathkeale.