Hurling championship reaches quarter final stage

Na Piarsaigh’s William O’Donoghue will be in club championship action this weekend.

KILMALLOCK’S John Fitzgerald Park will host both quarter finals of the Bon Secours Hospital Limerick Senior Hurling Championship this weekend.

First into action will be Doon and Kildimo/Pallaskenry on Saturday (throw-in 3.30pm), with Patrickswell and South Liberties in opposition the following afternoon (2pm).  

Already through to the semi-finals as group winners are defending champions Kilmallock and Na Piarsaigh, scorching-hot favourites to take the John Daly Memorial Cup. 

It’s by virtue of a late winning goal last time out against Patrickswell from stylish defender Pat Cummins that Doon find themselves at this juncture.  

Often there or thereabouts at the business end of the championship, Doon – under the current management of former club star Tadhg Hayes – have never actually won in Limerick. However, there is plenty to like about them this season, given the current well-being of the likes of Chris Thomas, skipper Richie English, Josh Ryan, Darragh O’Donovan, Pat Ryan Simon, Barry Murphy, and Dean Coleman. 

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Neither have Kildimo/Pallaskenry triumphed at this level. Natal O’Grady’s team, however, are oozing with talent through Tony McCarthy, Cathal Downes, Shaun Barry, Peter Nash, Barry O’Connell, Kyle Hayes (captain), and Liam Griffin. 

It’s likely to be close, but Doon are tipped to progress. 

Patrickswell, who head the roll-of-honour with 20 titles, are fancied to come through against South Liberties, such is the talent at manager John O’Meara’s disposal thanks to individuals such as Seánie O’Brien, leader Diarmaid Byrnes, Mark Carmody, Aaron Gillane, Jack Kelliher, and Patrick Kirby.  

Liberties, however, have quality too, courtesy of Anthony Nash, Eoghan Godfrey, Barry Nash, Brian Ryan, Barry Cooney, and Tom Ryan

Liberties will push their opponents but are likely to come-up short all in all. 

The two glamour fixtures will be refereed by Bruree stalwarts Michael Sexton and John O’Halloran, respectively. 

The Cup Final, for those sides finishing third/fourth in Group B, will involve neighbours Ballybrown and Mungret/St. Paul’s in Claughaun on Sunday (1pm, Referee: Timmy McGrath).

In the Lyons’ of Limerick PIHC, the final round of group matches are listed for Saturday after which the semi-finalists will become known. With Monaleen and Effin sitting pretty, while Bruff, Glenroe, Dromin/Athlaca and Newcastle West are all also very much in the reckoning for last four berths, it’s all still very much to play for.