Dempsey nominated as Limerick football manager

Limerick football manager Ray Dempsey who will name his side for the McGrath Cup final tomorrow.

MAYO’S Ray Dempsey has been nominated to replace Billy Lee as Limerick Senior Football Manager, subject to ratification at tomorrow (Tuesday) night’s County Board Meeting. 

Dempsey was selected for a two-year term by a sub-committee comprised of executive officers John Cregan, Seamus McNamara and Mike O’Riordan, along with Football Committee members Gerry Phillips, Wayne Fitzgerald and Tony Greene.

“I am looking forward to the challenge and am hugely excited to be working with the group of players and building on their achievements of the last number of years,” commented Dempsey of his first senior intercounty management post.

He will unveil his management team in the coming weeks.

In his home county, Dempsey guided Knockmore to back-to-back wins in the Mayo Senior Championship. On the inter-county front, he has served as both county minor and Under-21 boss.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

As a player, he represented Mayo more than 60 times.