Strong Limerick representation on national book awards shortlist

Roisín Meaney who has been shortlisted for the Author of the Year award.

LIMERICK is well represented on the list of nominees for this year’s An Post Irish Book Awards which features four authors with strong local connections in the line-up for the top prizes.

Long-time Limerick resident Roisín Meaney is one of six nominees for the Author of the Year award and Limerick native Marian Keyes’ best-selling ‘Again, Rachel’ is on the list for Popular Fiction Book of the Year.

The shortlist also includes University of Limerick writers-in-residence Donal Ryan, whose latest book ‘The Queen of Dirt Island’ is one of six nominees for Novel of the Year, and Kit de Waal whose memoir ‘Without Warning and Only Sometimes’ is in the running for Biography of the Year.

The 18 categories include Novel of the Year, Children, Cookbook, Crime Fiction, Popular Fiction, Non-fiction, Sports, Lifestyle, Short Story, Irish language, Poem, Newcomer, Teen and Young Adult, Irish Published and Biography.

A live in-person ceremony to celebrate the winners will take place on Wednesday, November 23 in the Dublin Convention Centre and  a one-hour special, hosted by Oliver Callan, will be broadcast on RTÉ One television on Wednesday, December 7.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Book Awards Chairperson Brendan Corbett said that the shortlist displays the talent of Irish writers and exemplifies the diversity of Ireland’s literary culture. Each category is steeped with exceptional writing and truly deserving writers and authors, as well as publishers and booksellers.

Members of the public are now being asked to cast their votes online for the best books of the year here.

All voters will be entered into a prize draw to win one of five €100 National Book Token vouchers. Voting opened this morning and will close on November 10.