Monaleen primed for Munster championship action

Andrew La Touche Cosgrave who has featured strongly for Monaleen.

MONALEEN will fancy their chances of advancing to the AIB Munster Intermediate Club Hurling Final when they play St Joseph’s Doora/Barefield of Clare in Saturday’s semi-final at Fitzgerald Park, Kilmallock (throw-in 1.15pm). 

Eoin Brislane’s finely-tuned outfit were clearly the better team across the county championship, culminating with an impressive six-point defeat of Bruff in the decider. 

Captained by centre-back Lorcan Lyons, Monaleen have plenty of other talent through the likes of Leo Morrison, Jamie Porter, Joseph Fitzgerald, Mark O’Dwyer, John Nicholas, Dan Power, and Donnacha O’Dálaigh.  

Injury-dogged Andrew La Touche Cosgrave, a member of Limerick’s 2018 All-Ireland winning squad, is also back to full fitness, representing a major boost for the Limerick flagbearers. 

Doora/Barefield were once kings of senior club hurling in Munster, claiming back-to-back wins in 1999, and will present a formidable challenge to Monaleen at the weekend. 

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Ciarán O’Regan of Cork will referee. 

The other semi-final involves Tipperary’s Roscrea and Inniscarra of Cork. 

On the junior front, three-time Limerick winners St Kieran’s face a tricky Munster semi-final against Banner (Clare) at Cusack Park, Ennis on Saturday (1.15pm throw-in). 

In the county final, John Fitzgerald coached Kieran’s were slow off the blocks but recovered from a four-point interval deficit to claim the honours. 

If the Limerick representatives are to create a mild surprise, special performances will be needed from goalkeeper Cillian Ambrose, Paudie McCarthy, Brendan McCarthy, Jack Ben Harnett, Cathal McEnery, Darragh Treacy, Johnny McCarthy, and skipper Ian Mackessy. 

The following afternoon holders Ballygiblin (Cork) meet Waterford’s Colligan at Páirc Uí Rinn in the second semi-final.