Limerick remain unbeaten in Under-20 Championship

Adam English who scored Limerick's goal last night.

LIMERICK withstood a strong finish from Clare to earn a valuable draw in last night’s hugely exciting Munster Under-20 Hurling Championship at the Gaelic Grounds.

In front of a crowd of around 1,800, Diarmuid Mullins’ Limerick were 1-19 to 1-16 at full-time only for the visitors to reel-off the last three points in overtime and tie the fixture.  

Limerick now move on to three points – the competition is being run-off on a league basis – having overcome Waterford in their opener.

Next-up for Limerick is a clash with Cork at Páirc Uí Chaoimh at the start of May. 

Limerick led 1-9 to 0-9 at half-time, the goal from the stick of Doon’s Adam English. 

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

That Limerick led for the most part was largely due to the brilliance of Patrick O’Donovan of Effin, who emerged with a handsome contribution of 12 points, many of which arrived from open play, and from a variety of angles. 

Limerick: Josh O’Reilly (Ballybrown); Ronan Lyons (Monaleen), John Fitzgerald (Na Piarsaigh), Evan O’Leary (Ahane); David Fitzgerald (Kildimo/Pallaskenry), Cian Scully (Dromin/Athlacca), Ethan Hurley (Newcastle West); Joe Fitzgerald (Monaleen), Adam English (Doon); Fintan Fitzgerald (Mungret St. Pauls), Patrick O’Donovan (Effin), John Kirby (Patrickswell); Con Hayes (Newcastle West), Adam Fitzgerald (Templeglantine), Shane O’Brien (Kilmallock).

Substitutes used: Liam Lynch (Mungret St. Pauls), Barry Duff (Mungret St. Pauls), Liam Dennehy (Glenroe), Seán O’Neill (Blackrock).

Referee: Nicky Barry (Waterford).