Limerick minor hurlers unbeaten heading into clash with Tipperary

Limerick Minor Hurling Manager Evan Loftus

LIMERICK will resume their Munster Minor Hurling Championship campaign against Tipperary at Semple Stadium, Thurles, on Tuesday next (April 18, 7pm, Munster GAA TV).

Evan Loftus’ impressive bunch of teenagers are unbeaten in two starts, accounting for both Waterford (away) and Clare (home). Tipp have lost both of their opening rounds, to Clare and Cork.

On April 25, Limerick host Cork.

The semi-finals and final are all listed for early May.

Limerick, seeking a tenth provincial win at this grade, are captained by Seán Morrissey of Dromin/Athlacca. The team’s top scorers are Darren Collopy (Murroe/Boher) with ten points and Hugh Flanagan (Garryspillane), 0-7.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Cork have been made favourites for provincial glory.

In the Under-20 Munster Football Championship, Limerick run-up against Cork in the semi-final at Páirc Uí Rinn on Monday (7pm, YouTube Sport TG4).

At Paddy Carroll Park on Easter Monday, the Shane Kelly managed Limerick overcame Waterford 2-9 to 0-6. Both goals arrived in the closing half from David O’Shaughnessy of Ballysteen and Newcastle West’s Aaron Neville.