Limerick minor hurlers settle for semi-final spot 

Darren Collopy scored five points for Limerick minor hurlers last night.

LIMERICK will face Clare (away) in next week’s Munster Minor Hurling Championship semi-final, following last night’s 0-20 to 1-14 loss to Cork at the Gaelic Grounds.

The Shannonsiders led at the interval 0-10 to 0-9, but the visitors were cleverer in score execution in the closing-half. 

Darren Collopy of Murroe/Boher hit five points for Limerick, whose goal arrived from the stick of Monaleen’s Dara Ferland. 

The Rebels are straight through to the May 9 Final. 

Meanwhile, manager John Ryan has named a strong selection for tomorrow (Thursday) night’s Munster Minor Football Championship outing with Waterford at Mick Neville Park, Rathkeale (7pm, Munster GAA TV).

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

In the absence of Aidan O’Shea (Cappagh/Rathkeale), Athea’s Evan Curry will captain the side from centre-field. 

Limerick: Sam Guerin (Kildimo/Pallaskenry); Cian O’Sullivan (Kildimo/Pallaskenry), Callum Buckley (Athea), James Hunt (Athea); Kieran O’Kelly (Croom, Cathal Woulfe (Fr. Casey’s), Sam Colgan (Askeaton/Ballysteen/Kilcornan); Liam Óg Glynn (Ahane), Evan Curry (Athea); Adam Murphy (Fr. Casey’s), Darragh Hogan (Mungret St. Paul’s), Padraic Phelan (Pallasgreen); Tommy Glynn (Na Piarsaigh), Andrew Lyons (Newcastle West), Padraic Murphy (Askeaton/Ballysteen/Kilcornan).

Substitutes: Charlie Lane (South Liberties), Con Kirby (Crecora/Manister), Cillian Meade (St. Senan’s), Barry Griffin (Monaleen), Ross Allen (Kildimo/Pallaskenry), Ronan O’Connell (Fr. Casey’s), Rory Mullins (Mungret St. Paul’s), Cian Hogan (Galtee Gaels), Owen Dee (Cappagh/Rathkeale). 

The Gaelic Grounds has been confirmed as the venue for the Munster Senior Football Final between All-Ireland winners and defending champions Kerry and Clare on Sunday week (May 7), with a 4pm start.