Corbett injury blow for Limerick footballers

Iain Corbett who has been ruled out of the Tailteann Cup game against Longford.

CAPTAIN Iain Corbett has been ruled-out of the Limerick side to face Longford in the opening round of the Tailteann Cup Senior Football Championship at the Gaelic Grounds on Saturday (6pm).

The brilliant Newcastle West centre-back was forced-off during the break in Limerick’s narrow Munster Championship loss to Clare at the same venue three weeks ago with a hamstring injury. He is still on the recovery path, making his availability for the upcoming clashes with Carlow and Wicklow in doubt. 

Former All-Star nominee Corbett holds the joint captaincy of the team, alongside goalkeeper Donal O’Sullivan.

In the enforced absence of Corbett, experienced Jim Liston of Gerald Griffins moves from left-half to the number six slot.

Limerick: Donal O’Sullivan, captain, (Monaleen); Mike Donovan (St Finbarr’s, Cork), Seán O’Dea (Kilteely/Dromkeen), Brian Fanning (Pallasgreen); Barry Coleman (Rathkeale), Jim Liston (Gerald Griffins), Paul Maher (Adare); Cillian Fahy (Dromcollogher/Broadford), Cathal Downes (Kildimo/Pallaskenry); Cian Sheehan (Newcastle West), Brian Donovan (Monaleen), Adrian Enright (Fr. Casey’s); James Naughton (St. Senan’s), Colm McSweeney (Gerald Griffins), Peter Nash (Kildimo/Pallaskenry).

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Subs: Aaron O’Sullivan (Pallasgreen), Hugh Bourke (Adare), Gordon Brown (Na Piarsaigh), David Connolly (Adare), Tommy Griffin (Gerald Griffins), Davy Lyons (Adare), Tony McCarthy (Kildimo/Pallaskenry), Darragh Murray (Monaleen), Ruadhán O’Connor (Newcastle West), Eoin O’Shea (Monaleen), Cormac Woulfe (St. Senan’s).

Ahead of the fixture, Limerick football received a welcome boost with a terrific 1-9 to 1-6 defeat of a fancied Tipperary side in the Munster Phase One Minor Football Final in Mallow last night. 

Limerick’s winning goal arrived near the finish from Darragh Hogan of Mungret St. Paul’s.

Cappagh’s Aidan O’Shea was presented with the Daryl Tracy Cup by Munster Chairman Bob Ryan.

In next week’s Munster semi-finals, Limerick tackle Kerry while Tipperary take on Cork.