RUGBY ROUND-UP: Munster juniors surrender Inter-pro title

Jordan O’Donnell was one of three Thomond players on the Munster Junior Rugby side defeated by Leinster.

MUNSTER surrendered their Junior Inter-Provincial crown very tamely when they were defeated 45-21 by Leinster at Waterford City’s grounds.

Leinster scored eight tries in this contest. Ciarán Fennessy gave the visitors an early lead with a try, but Munster responded with a try by Conor Kavanagh which Josef O’Connor converted.  A try by Robert Vallejo and a penalty by Craig Miller put Leinster into a 13-7 halftime lead.

Tries by Graham Reynolds, Fennessy, Ruadhán McDonnell, and Mikey Russell extended the visitors’ advantage to 33-7, before Adam Sheehan pulled one back for Munster, which O’Connor converted. Jake McDonald and Vallejo added further tries for Leinster before David Shannon scored Munster’s third try and O’Connor converted.

Munster: Ronan O’Brien (Kanturk); Jesse Smith (Charleville), Willie Walsh (Waterpark), Craig O’Connell (Old Christians), Eoin O’Sullivan (Kanturk); Josef O’Connor (Fethard), Conor Kavanagh (Fethard); Noel Roche (Waterpark), Colin Slater (Thomond), Jordan O’Donnell (Thomond); Olan Deane (Clonakilty), Ruarí O’Donnell (St. Mary’s); Mark O’Connell (Kinsale), Ryain Ahern (Thomond), Conor Horan (Waterpark).

Replacements: Cathal O’Regan (Clonakilty), TJ Relihan (Newcastle West), James Collins O’Brien (Bandon), Ciaran Vaughan (Kanturk), Adam Sheehan (Skibbereen), Josh Brady (Bandon), Jack O’Connell (Crosshaven), Dave Shannon (Skibbereen).

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

On the club front, Nenagh Ormond picked up silverware for a rewarding season with a home final win over Shannon 52-14 in the Sporting Limerick Charity Cup. 

Conor McMahon scored four tries for the winners, and Kevin O’Flaherty, Nicky Irwin, and Patrick Scully also crossed the whitewash. Conor O’Brien converted all seven tries and also added a penalty. Myles Lawlor and Luke Moylan replied with tries for Shannon. John Bateman converted both tries.

Newcastle West retained their Junior Clubs Challenge Cup title with a convincing 51-8 win over Richmond in the decider at Charleville. Seán Murphy scored three of the winner’s seven tries. Shane Airey, Cian Tierney, and Rob Guerin also scored tries. They were also awarded a penalty try. Airey kicked four conversions and two penalties. Graham Kirwin replied with a try for Richmond and Tadhg Bennett kicked a penalty.

And, Cork Constitution won the Munster Senior Clubs League Final defeating Young Munster 38-35 in the final at Tom Clifford Park.