Limerick trio feature in Ireland rugby squad

Garryowen's Conor Murray has been named among the replacements for Ireland's clash against England.

KEITH Earls of Young Munster along with Garryowen pair, Conor Murray and Jeremy Loughman – who only joined the squad earlier this week – have been named amongst the replacements for Ireland’s glamour Rugby World Cup warm-up fixture with England at the Aviva Stadium on Saturday, 5.30pm.

Earls is in line to win an historic 100th cap.

Murray has made 105 appearances at this level, while Loughman has just the one outing to his credit.

Calvin Nash (Young Munster) – who won his first senior International cap in the weekend defeat of Italy in Dublin – has been released back to Munster.

Ross Byrne of Leinster and Connacht’s Cian Prendergast have been handed starts by coach Andy Farrell.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Mayor of Limerick City and County Gerald Mitchell was among those congratulating Keith Earls on his historic 100th cap for Ireland.

“Keith’s journey to a century of Irish caps encapsulates the essence of sportsmanship, teamwork and perseverance. He is an inspiration to aspiring athletes throughout Limerick and beyond,” he said.

“This remarkable milestone is a testament to Keith’s dedication, skill, and unwavering commitment to the sport.”

The Mayor continued: “Keith is an exemplary ambassador for Limerick and this accomplishment serves as an inspiration to the younger generation, demonstrating that with dedication and hard work, one can achieve greatness on the global stage.”

Ireland: Hugo Keenan; Mack Hansen, Garry Ringrose, Bundee Aki, James Lowe; Byrne, Jamison Gibson-Park; Andrew Porter, Dan Sheehan, Tadhg Furlong; Tadhg Beirne, James Ryan (capt); Peter O’Mahony, Josh van der Flier,  Prendergast.

Replacements: Rob Herring, Loughman, Finlay Bealham, Joe McCarthy, Caelan Doris, Murray, Jack Crowley, Earls.