Farrell unveils his hand for World Cup

Conor Murray of Ireland goes over to score his side's second try during the Rugby World Cup warm-up match between Ireland and Samoa at Parc des Sports Jean Dauger in Bayonne, France. Photo: Harry Murphy/Sportsfile

A QUINTET of local players have been named in the 33-player Ireland squad for the 2023 Rugby World Cup, which is being staged in France.

For both Garryowen’s Conor Murray and Keith Earls of Young Munster selection represents their fourth such adventure, while for Craig Casey (Shannon) and Jeremy Loughman of Garryowen the campaign is debut territory.

Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemian) was also involved in the global tournament four years ago.

Farrell commented: “We look forward to the challenges ahead, knowing there is a huge level of support for the team from across the four Provinces, from all those in green around the world and from the thousands who will be in France backing us throughout the tournament.”

Ireland captain Jonathan Sexton added: “We are under no illusions of the size of the task ahead, starting with Romania in our Pool opener. We will take each challenge as it comes, leaning on the experiences and lessons we have learnt as a group over the last four years, and with our supporters travelling in numbers, we will be working hard to make this a tournament to remember.”

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Ireland: Forwards – Ryan Baird (Leinster/Dublin University), Finlay Bealham (Connacht/Buccaneers), Tadhg Beirne (Munster/Lansdowne), Jack Conan (Leinster/Old Belvedere), Caelan Doris (Leinster/St Mary’s College), Tadhg Furlong (Leinster/Clontarf), Iain Henderson (Ulster/Academy), Rob Herring (Ulster/Ballynahinch), Ronan Kelleher (Leinster/Lansdowne)(21) David Kilcoyne (Munster/UL Bohemians), Jeremy Loughman (Munster/Garryowen), Joe McCarthy (Leinster/Dublin University), Peter O’Mahony (Munster/Cork Constitution), Tom O’Toole (Ulster/Ballynahinch)(11), Andrew Porter (Leinster/UCD), James Ryan (Leinster/UCD), Dan Sheehan (Leinster/Lansdowne),
Josh van der Flier (Leinster/UCD).

Backs – Bundee Aki (Connacht/Galwegians), Ross Byrne (Leinster/UCD),
Craig Casey (Munster/Shannon), Jack Crowley (Munster/Cork Constitution),
Keith Earls (Munster/Young Munster), Jamison Gibson-Park (Leinster),
Mack Hansen (Connacht/Corinthians), Robbie Henshaw (Leinster/Buccaneers),
Hugo Keenan (Leinster/UCD), James Lowe (Leinster), Stuart McCloskey (Ulster/Bangor), Conor Murray (Munster/Garryowen),
Jimmy O’Brien (Leinster/Naas), Garry Ringrose (Leinster/UCD),
Jonathan Sexton (Leinster/St Mary’s College).