Dowling named as new Limerick minor hurling manager

Limerick minor hurling manager Shane Dowling. Photo: Seb Daly.

LIMERICK’S quest for a first All-Ireland Minor Hurling title since centenary year 1984 will be spearheaded by none other than Na Piarsaigh man Shane Dowling.

The 2018 All-Star from the county’s breakthrough All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship triumph will lead a management team of Liam Cronin, Darren Moynihan, and Andrew Ryan, with other roles for Darragh Droog (strength and conditioning), Hugh Dunne (kit), and Barry O’Regan (liason officer).

The Na Piarsaigh star has one Senior All-Ireland title under his belt, as well as two Munster titles and one in the National Hurling League. He also holds five Limerick Championship medals.

Known as a half-forward throughout his inter-county reign, Dowling currently plays in goals for County Senior Hurling Champions Na Piarsaigh.

Next year marks 40 years since Limerick last won an All-Ireland Minor Hurling Championship, achieved under the captaincy of Anthony O’Riordan (Bruff).

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Dowling replaces Ballybrown’s Evan Loftus, who has stepped up to manage the County Under-20 hurling side.