Limerick beat Armagh in All-Ireland Masters Football

IN THEIR maiden season, Limerick toppled hot-pots Armagh 2-14 to 1-13 following extra time in an absorbing All-Ireland Masters Football Final at Kiltoom (St Brigid’s GAA), Roscommon.

The ties were level 1-11 each at the end of normal time.

Midfielder John O’Connell of Knockane was the stand-out performer for Limerick, who were under the management of Anthony McCarthy, Kilteely/Dromkeen.

Ronan Magee (Hospital/Herbertstown) top-scored with six points, while the goals arrived from substitutes John Doyle (St Kieran’s) and Claughaun’s Michael O’Donoghue.

Limerick (starting XV): Denis O’Connor (Knockane), Paul Casey (Kileedy), Ciarán Carey (Patrickswell), Maurice O’Connor (C) (Mountcollins); Michael Moloney (Caherline), Eddie Mulcahy (Pallasgreen), Andrew Breedy (Galtee Gaels); John O’Kelly (Dromcollogher/Broadford), John O’Connell (Knockane); Gary Campbell (St Patrick’s), Micheál Reidy (Dromcollogher/Broadford), Ray Lynch (Dromcollogher/Broadford); Michael Geary (St. Patrick’s), Trevor Cosgrave (Knockane), Ronan Magee (Hospital/Herbertstown).

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter