Limerick dominate All-Star nominations

Limerick’s Hurler of the Year elect, Aaron Gillane. Photo: Ramsey Cardy.

FOUR-in-a-row All-Ireland Senior Hurling Champions Limerick have just shy of a third of the nominations for the 2023 All-Star Awards set to be announced in mid-November.

Limerick has 14 of the 45 players in the running for individual recognition. Proven duo Declan Hannon and Gearóid Hegarty are not on the short-list.

The county-by-county breakdown is Limerick: 14, Clare: 9, Kilkenny: 8, Galway: 6, Cork: 4, Tipperary: 3 and one representative from Dublin (Dónal Burke).

Diarmaid Byrnes, Aaron Gillane and Kyle Hayes are those short-listed for Player of the Year.

Limerick’s All-Star nominees: Nickie Quaid, Barry Nash, Mike Casey, Dan Morrissey Kyle Hayes, Diarmaid Byrnes, Darragh O’Donovan, Will O’Donoghue, Cian Lynch, Peter Casey, Tom Morrissey, Aaron Gillane, Séamus Flanagan and David Reidy.  

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter