Munster announce teams for visit of Barbarians

Munster’s Thomond Park.

MUNSTER have unveiled their respective starting teams for this Saturday’s historic double-header with The Barbarians at Thomond Park, (KOs at 2pm and 4.30pm).

Women’s Coach Niamh Briggs has made plenty of changes from her side which lost heavily to Leinster in the Inter-provincial final at the start of the month.

Munster: Aoife Corey, Chisom Ugwueru, Alana McInerney, Stephanie Nunan, Stephanie Carroll; Kate Flannery, Muirne Wall; Róisín Ormond, Beth Buttimer, Eilís Cahill; Dorothy Wall (captain), Clodagh O’Halloran; Brianna Heylmann, Jane Clohessy, Chloe Pearse.

Replacements: Ciara Farrell, Fiona Reidy, Gillian Coombes, Claire Bennett, Maeve Óg O’Leary, Abbie Salter-Townshend, Aoife O’Shaughnessy, Aoife Doyle.

Men’s Coach Graham Rowntree has included academy players Ethan Coughlan, Edwin Edogbo, and Shay McCarthy in his team.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Munster: Shane Daly; Shay McCarthy, Antoine Frisch, Rory Scannell, Calvin Nash; Joey Carbery, Ethan Coughlan; Josh Wycherley, Diarmuid Barron, Stephen Archer; Edwin Edogbo, Fineen Wycherley; Jack O’Donoghue (captain), Jack Daly, Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: Niall Scannell, Mark Donnelly, John Ryan, Tom Ahern, Brian Gleeson, Neil Cronin, Tony Butler, Fionn Gibbons.

On the club front, Jamie Heuston captained Garryowen easily accounted for Bruff, 39-10 in Thursday night’s floodlit Munster Senior Cup semi-final, and will now run-up against Cork Constitution in the final later in the season.

The AIL starts on Saturday week, October 7, with a full programme of fixtures across all divisions.