Limerick football showdown involves Adare and NCW

Shane Dohery of Adare and Iain Corbett, Newcastle West, respective club captains ahead of Sunday's SFC Final. Photo: Skyview Photography.

FOR the third year on the trot, modern-day rivals Adare and Newcastle West contest the Irish Wire Products Limerick Senior Football Championship Final, a contest listed for the Gaelic Grounds on Sunday (throw-in 2pm).

NCW have won both recent meetings and are in search of the club’s first ever three-in-a-row, a feat not achieved since now defunct Treaty Sarsfields (1973-75) won the last of its 12 titles.

While the defending champions were clear-cut winners in 2021, only three points separated the sides 12 months ago.

Back in 2017, Adare won the club’s only other final clash.

In their semi-final, NCW breezed past Monaleen with a side that boasts plenty of talent with Darren O’Doherty, Ruadhán O’Connor, James Kelly, Iain Corbett (captain), Eoin Hurley, Michael Quilligan, Bryan Nix, Emmett Rigter, and Mike McMahon.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Last season’s All-Star nominated Cian Sheehan is a noted absentee after opting for a stint abroad.

Jimmy Lee is at the helm with NCW.

To reach the decider, Adare required on extra-time to dispose of plucky Fr Casey’s. Under the continued leadership of Shane Doherty, the Maiguesiders have quality in David Connolly, Jack Fitzgerald, Paul Maher, Shane Costello, Jack English, Joe Sweeney, Hugh Bourke, and Davey Lyons.

John Brudair is manager of three-time champions Adare.

In what is likely to be a defensive contest, NCW are prevailed to retain the Fr Casey Memorial Cup.

John O’Halloran (Bruree) will referee.

Meanwhile, beaten (by Na Piarsaigh) finalists 12 months ago, Dromcollogher/Broadford will hope to atone for that outcome this time around at the expense of Mungret St Paul’s in the Griffin Coaches Limerick Intermediate Football showpiece at Páirc na nGael, Askeaton (3pm).

Earlier (1pm), Feenagh/Kilmeedy and Newcastle West contest the Premier Junior A Final in Kileedy.

There’s a noon start in Fedamore on Sunday for the Junior A Final between Camogue Rovers and Mungret St. Paul’s.

In the running for Junior B honours are Ballylanders, St. Kieran’s, Bruree and Knockaderry.