Quick return to action for Limerick SFC winners

Newcastle West joint-captain Iain Corbett with his son Dylan, who was born on Tuesday, October 31, 2023, after the Limerick County Senior Club Football Championship final match between Adare and Newcastle West at TUS Gaelic Grounds in Limerick. Photo: Tom Beary.

THERE’S an unfair quick turnaround for three-in-a-row Limerick Senior Football winners Newcastle West who face Clonmel Commercials (Tipperary) in the Munster Championship opener at Semple Stadium, Thurles on Sunday, throw-in 1.30pm.

The victors here will be home to Dingle (Kerry) in the provincial semi-final.

Only on Sunday, NCW became the first team in an age to win three-in-a-row Limerick Senior Football Championships courtesy of a thrilling 3-5 to 0-13 defeat of modernday rivals Adare at the Gaelic Grounds.

Not since Treaty Sarsfields (1973-’75) has any club enjoyed such supremacy on Shannonside.

Some quality points from Hugh Bourke and the Connolly brothers, David and Ronan, helped Adare into a strong position early-on but a brace of goals from an alert Eoin Hurley – voted player-of-the-match – leap-frogged NCW into an unexpected 2-2 to 0-7 half-time lead.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Another three-pointer after the restart through Bryan Nix had the Magpies in pole position, but stubborn Adare were still in the mix late-on thanks to efforts from Bourke.

In a hectic finish, Jimmy Lee’s impressive outfit held out to win by the narrowest of margins.

It was easily one of the best finals in quite a while. “It was a fantastic final, from the very start to the very end,” summed-up Limerick Football Chairman Wayne Fitzgerald ahead of his presentation of the Fr. William Casey Memorial Cup to inspirational winning captain Iain Corbett.

Corbett was quick to praise his manager, who will take up the reigns with the county side in 2024.

“When he took on the job with ourselves, people were in shock. But, they needn’t have been as Jimmy has taken us through 21 championship matches unbeaten, and that is some record, one which speaks for itself. As a club, we wish him similar success with Limerick.”

Meanwhile, the re-arranged Premier Junior A Final involving Newcastle West and Feenagh/Kilmeedy is listed for Mick Neville Park on Friday, 8pm.

And the last of the county Finals – Junior B Hurling – will involve Ballybrown and Monalenin Cappamore on Saturday (2pm).