Changes in Munster personnel for visit of Stormers

Stephen Archer of Munster during the United Rugby Championship match between Munster and Vodacom Bulls at Thomond Park in Limerick. Photo: Harry Murphy.

FOR the URC Final rematch with Stormers at Thomond Park this Saturday (5.15pm), there are four changes to the Munster XV from that which lost away to Ulster.

Captain Peter O’Mahony and Tadhg Beirne return from international duty and go straight into the first XV with fellow Ireland international Conor Murray among the replacements.

Scott Buckley starts at hooker for the first time since his debut in 2021 and makes his 21st Munster appearance.

Academy winger Shay McCarthy starts on his third Munster appearance and is the only change to the backline.

Stephen Archer is also named among the replacements and in line to play his 268th game for Munster, equalling Donncha O’Callaghan’s record of most appearances for the province.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Shane Daly starts at full-back with Calvin Nash and McCarthy on either wing.

Craig Casey and Jack Crowley start together in the half-backs once again with Alex Nankivell and Antoine Frisch continuing their centre partnership.

Jeremy Loughman, Buckley and John Ryan start in the front row with Academy lock Edwin Edogbo and Beirne in the engine room.

O’Mahony, John Hodnett and Gavin Coombes complete the starting XV.

In the replacements, hooker Chris Moore is in line for his senior debut off the bench after joining from Exeter University in 2022.

Josh Wycherley, record-equalling Archer, Tom Ahern and Alex Kendellen complete the back-up in the forwards.

Murray and Rory Scannell are the backline replacements.

Munster: Shane Daly; Calvin Nash, Antoine Frisch, Alex Nankivell, Shay McCarthy; Jack Crowley, Craig Casey; Jeremy Loughman, Scott Buckley, John Ryan; Edwin Edogbo, Tadhg Beirne; Peter O’Mahony (captain), John Hodnett, Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: Chris Moore, Josh Wycherley, Stephen Archer, Tom Ahern, Jack O’Donoghue, Conor Murray, Rory Scannell, Alex Kendellen.