Monaleen take home All-Ireland title

Monaleen celebrate their All-Ireland Hurling Championship success. Photo: Courtesy of Monaleen GAA.

BEN Hayes turned in a masterclass performance for Monaleen in their brilliant 2-11 to 0-9 defeat of Drom and Inch (Tipperary) in the All-Ireland Junior B Hurling Championship Final at St Ita’s Park, Raheenagh.

Hayes emerged as a lifetime club hero with a contribution of 2-3, which easily earned the towering attacker man of the match. Max Ivory too delivered on the scoring front, with a haul of eight points.

Monaleen were 0-7 to 0-4 ahead at the interval.

In the near 20-year history of the competition hosted by Killeedy, Doon were the only previous Limerick champions.

The ageless Damien Cosgrave, who first lined-out at adult grade for his club way back in 1996, captained Monaleen to success from his customary full-back position.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Monaleen: Muiris Ó Dálaigh; Darragh Clifford, Damien Cosgrave (captain), Conor Carew; Noel Clancy, Conor Nicholas, Tom D’Arcy; Ben Murnane, Conal Ó Duinn; Ben Hayes,Cian O’Dwyer, Diarmaid Lehane; Max Ivory, Robbie O’Sullivan, Dylan Crowe.

Substitutes: Harry Gleeson, Luke Ryan, Mike Doyle.