Munster impress in Swansea

Seán O'Brien scores his side's third try during the United Rugby Championship match between Ospreys and Munster at the Stadium in Swansea. Photo: Gruffydd Thomas.

MUNSTER inflicted upon Ospreys only their second home defeat of the season with an impressive 27-17 bonus point victory in Swansea.

This third consecutive win moves Graham Rowntree’s side up to fourth in the URC table.

BKT Player of the Match Seán O’Brien crossed for two tries while winger Shane Daly and lock RG Snyman got the other tries for the visitors.

Mike Haley, celebrating his 100th appearance for Munster, set up Daly for the opening score in the left corner in the  early minutes, with Joey Carbery adding the extras for a brilliant start.

Soon after O’Brien intercepted a pass and raced down the right to score after fending off his marker Keelan Giles.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Munster were forced to defend several lengthy phases and a few penalties to the corners before extending their lead after 17 minutes when O’Brien again intercepted and then chased his own grubber which bounced several times inside the right touchline before he scored. Carbery landed the conversion to push the lead out to 0-19.

Ospreys pulled back a try to leave it 5-19 at the interval.

The Welsh side reduced the margin to seven when hooker Sam Parry scored after a penalty to the left corner which Owen Williams converted.

But the response from Munster was excellent and Snyman finished off a 17-phase move with a try to extend the lead around the hour mark.

Carbery pushed the advantage out to 15 points with a penalty in the closing quarter and while Alex Cuthbert pulled back a try for Ospreys, Munster secured the win in front of a crowd of close on 4,000.

Munster entertain Cardiff at Thomond Park on Saturday, 7.35pm.

Munster: Mike Haley; Sean O’Brien, Antoine Frisch, Rory Scannell (Shay McCarthy 76), Shane Daly; Joey Carbery (Tony Butler 72), Craig Casey (Ethan Coughlan 72); Josh Wycherley (Jeremy Loughman 45), Niall Scannell (Eoghan Clarke 74), JohnRyan (Stephen Archer 60); Tom Ahern, RG Snyman (Jack O’Donoghue 60); John Hodnett (Ruadhán Quinn 64), Alex Kendellen (c), Gavin Coombes.