Defeat for Limerick Under-20s at home to Tipp

LIMERICK slipped to a second loss in as many outings in the Munster Under-20 Hurling Championship at Mick Neville Park, Rathkeale.

Beaten by Clare a week earlier, Limerick’s 3-18 to 1-17 defeat to Cork now makes qualification for the knock-out phase a serious risk, with a difficult away trip to Cork next up on May 26.

After the group stage, the top team qualifies for the final while the next pair clash in a semi.

In Rathkeale, Limerick reeled off the opening three points without reply but shortly afterwards the visitors took the lead, one which was never subsequently relinquished.

Tipp were 2-12 to 1-8 ahead at the interval. Limerick’s goal came through a penalty effort from Hugh Flanagan.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Darragh McCarthy, who helped Nenagh CBS to Harty Cup glory earlier in the year, was the best player on the show, striking 1-9.

Limerick: Pierce Connery (Kilmallock); Mikey Fitzgibbon (Cappamore), Darragh Langan (Monaleen), Shane Fitzgibbon (Dromin-Athlacca); Vince Harrington (Na Piarsaigh), Matthew Fitzgerald (Monaleen), Cian Scully, captain, (Dromin-Athlacca); Joe Fitzgerald (Monaleen), Con Hayes (Newcastle West); Robert O’Farrell (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Fintan Fitzgerald (Mungret-St Paul’s), Donal Coughlan (Doon); Hugh Flanagan (Garrspillane), Shane O’Brien (Kilmallock), Oisín O’Farrell (Askeaton/Kilcornan Desmonds).

Substitutes used: Wayne Kearns (Na Piarsaigh), Dara Ferland (Monaleen), Mark Riordan (Castletown-Ballyagran), Daniel Scully (Dromin-Athlacca), Tádgh Boddy (Bruff).