Limerick claim Munster camogie title

Marian Graham of Munster Camogie presents the Burns Perpetual Cup to Limerick captain Ann Kennedy.

IMPRESSIVE Limerick edged out Cork, 1-11 to 0-13, to capture the Munster Junior Camogie Championship at Seán Treacy Park, Kilcommon on Bank Holiday Monday.

Limerick were 0-7 to 0-5 behind at the interval and trailed for much of the second-half, only to finish strongly.

The only goal came from full-forward Ella Hession, who kept a ball that was heading wide alive and then powerfully struck it to the net.

A five-point contribution from Carla Griffin was also important for David Deady’s Limerick.

Valerie Shanahan was chosen as player-of-the-match.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Limerick: Naomi Ryan (Tournafulla); Muireann Leahy (Crecora), Tara Lenihan (Croagh/Kilfinny), Elaine Frawley (Granagh/Ballingarry); Megan Ryan (Crecora), Ciara Houlihan (Croagh/Kilfinny), Lauren O’Connor (Templeglantine); Ann Kennedy, captain, (Ahane), Saoirse Fitzgerald (Monaleen); Valerie Shanahan (Killeedy), Kate Feasey (Patrickswell), Amy Burke (Monaleen); Zara White (Ballyagran), Ella Hession (Monaleen), Carla Griffin (Adare).

Substitutes used: Emma English (Galbally), Abbie Murrihy (Ahane), Noelle Curtin (Templeglantine), Tori Smith (Tournafulla).