Broadford win Desmond Cup

Pauline O'Connor presents cup to winning captain Michéal Brosnan.

BROADFORD United impressed in a 2-0 Desmond Cup Final victory over Rathkeale at Mick Hanley Park, Askeaton.

The goals arrived in either half from captain Michéal Brosnan and Bryan Hannigan, both veterans of the sport.

Brosnan was superb throughout and earned the man-of-the-match award.

It was the fifth capture of the cup by Broadford.

Ray Lynch, Gary Egan, and Gary Enright were the winners’ management team.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Meanwhile, Eoin O’Shea (Athea United) has been named the League’s Premier Division Player of the Year.