O’Brien to start for Limerick in SHC Final

Kilmallock's Shane O'Brien will feature for the Limerick hurlers against Clare. Photo: Piaras Ó Mídheach.

TEENAGER Shane O’Brien has been named at full-forward on the Limerick side to face Clare in Sunday’s Munster Senior Hurling Championship Final at Semple Stadium, Thurles (4pm).

O’Brien, who only turns 20 later this month, was a revelation when introduced in the recent win over Waterford at the Gaelic Grounds.

He replaces the injured Séamus Flanagan.

Darragh O’Donovan is named among the replacements.

Limerick: Nickie Quaid; Mike Casey, Tom Morrissey, Barry Nash; Diarmaid Byrnes, Declan Hannon (captain), Kyle Hayes; Will O’Donoghue, Cathal O’Neill; Gearóid  Hegarty, David Reidy, Tom Morrissey; Aaron Gillane, Shane O’Brien, Cian Lynch.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

Clare: Eibhear Quilligan; Adam Hogan, Conor Cleary, Rory Hayes; Diarumid Ryan, John Conlon, David McInerney; David Fitzgerald, Darragh Lohan; Cathal Malone, Mark Rodgers, Peter Duggan; Aidan McCarthy, Shane O’Donnell, David Reidy.