INVALUABLE information for local historians, researchers and the men and woman interested in researching aspects of Limerick city’s past, is available from the Limerick Archives Department, which has responsibility for the records of the city council.
The City Archives, which also collect donations of material relating to the city, its people and organisations, including Limerick Chamber, Limerick Harbour Commissioners and Limerick Union Board of Guardians, has now made these collections freely available on www.limerickcity.ie
“Each year new collections are added to the website – for instance in 2010 the council’s Health and Welfare records, dispensary records, allotments and turf production records were added, as were a selection of collections from Limerick’s Christian Brothers School and other bodies,” says a spokesperson for City Hall.
A fascinating insight into the Quaker community in Limerick was recently made available through the donation of a microfilm copy of the Quaker Papers at a launch in the Quaker Meeting House.
The papers contain records of meetings, records of births and marriages and of grievances when their goods were seized in lieu of tithes due to the Established Church.
A fascinating series of diaries, documents and photographs of the Limerick man, DCC Mercier, who worked as a mill manager in Ranks Flour Mills from 1922 to 1961, was donated to the archives in October 2010.
The papers document Mr Mercier’s working life in one of Limerick’s key industries.
A reception to mark the donation was held in City Hall and former Ranks’ workers and their families were invited to attend.