Limerick face ‘Rebels’ in Cup final


Screen shot 2015-01-29 at 09.57.11LIMERICK will play Cork this Saturday night in Mallow at 7pm in the final of the Waterford Crystal Cup.
The two sides, who have met in the last two Munster Senior hurling finals, will relish this encounter, serving as a perfect run out ahead of the 2015 National hurling league which starts on February 14.
Limerick have reached this year’s final after a 0-22 to 0-17 win over UCC at Kilmallock last Saturday.
TJ Ryan’s men had late points from Shane Dowling, James Ryan, Pat Begley and the lively Adrian Breen to thank for closing out a game against a plucky student side. Indeed the game was level on 10 occasions, before Limerick managed to secure the win. A tally of 16 wides for the Limerick side did not help and Limerick manager Ryan has asked for his side to be more ‘clinical’ this weekend.
The opposition for the weekend is the familiar Cork side, lead once more by Jimmy Barry Murphy.
The ‘Rebels’ have been impressive in their march to the final defeating UL, (0-18 to 0-15), CIT) 4-15 to 1-13 and Clare (2-21 to 0-18).
Their semi final win over rivals Clare saw the Leesiders lead by 13 points in the second half.
Midfielder Andy Walsh and forwards Cian McCarthy and Stephen Moylan kept the scoreboard ticking along for Cork, but it was full forward Luke O’Farrell who impressed most, finishing the game with a personal tally of 2-3.
Limerick will be trying to win the Waterford Crystal Cup for the first time this weekend, while Limerick will be looking to get some early season ‘glass-ware’ for the first time since 2006.
The game will be refereed by Johnny Ryan of Tipperary and extra time – (2 periods x 10 minutes only) will be played if sides finish level at the end of 70 minutes.
Admission prices at Mallow are as follows: Adults – €10, Students / OAPs – €5. Under 16s will admitted free.

Limerick team and scorers versus UCC: N Quaid; S Walshe, R McCarthy, S Hickey; W McNamara, D O’Grady, D Morrissey; C Allis (0-2, 1f), C King (0-1); N Moran (0-1), J Ryan (0-2, 1f), C Lynch (0-2); T O’Brien (0-4, 4 f), P Begley (0-1), A Breen (0-3).
Subs: S Dowling (0-4, (2f), and T Condon for O’Brien and McNamara (h-t), T Morrissey (0-1) for Allis (46), P Browne (0-1) for King (53).

Cork side that defeated Clare in semi:
P Collins; C O’Sullivan, D Cahalane, S O’Donoghue; B O’Sullivan (0-1), L McLoughlin, G O’Connor; B Murray (0-1), A Walsh (0-2); P Kelleher (0-1), C McCarthy (0-7, three frees, one 65), B Lawton; S Moylan (0-2), L O’Farrell (2-3), D McCarthy (0-1).