No surprises at Fine Gael city convention

Fine Gael 2016 election candidates Deputy Kieran O'Donnell and Finance Minister Michael Noonan Fine Gael election candidates Deputy Kieran O'Donnell TD and Minister Michael Noonan TD at the Fine Gael convention in the Greenhills Hotel      Picture by Dave Gaynor
Deputy Kieran O’Donnell and Minister Michael Noonan at the Fine Gael convention in the Greenhills Hotel. Picture: Dave Gaynor

THERE were no surprises at the Fine Gael Limerick City selection convention, as the party’s two sitting TDs were chosen to contest next year’s general election.

Finance Minister Michael Noonan and Deputy Kieran O’Donnell were the only names put forward at the convention in the Greenhills Hotel on Friday evening.

Guest chairperson for the evening was Limerick County TD Dan Neville.

Minister Noonan was proposed by Cllr Maria Byrne and seconded by Cllr Daniel Butler while Deputy O’Donnell was proposed by Peter Doyle from Monaleen and seconded by former councillor Cormac Hurley.

Minister Noonan said he hoped “to continue the policies both locally and nationally that I have been following for the past four-and-a-half years. Dealing with people in Limerick, I am well aware of the pressures and challenges they have to deal with.

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

“My main priority has been the creation of jobs in Limerick. I want to contribute to the Ireland of the future where every child can be assured of the best education and a secure job at home”, he said.

Meanwhile, in the Limerick County constituency, three Fine Gael councillors are putting their names forward for the party’s selection convention on September 21.

Councillors Tom Neville, Bill O’Donnell and Jerome Scanlan, as well as sitting TD Patrick O’Donovan, will be seeking nominations for the Limerick County constituency. The party’s other TD in the County, Dan Neville, has announced he will not be contesting the general election.