Rugby – Earls, Zebo and Ryan start for Ireland against Romania

Screen shot 2015-09-25 at 12.51.00THE IRELAND coaching group have named the squad that will take on Romania at Wembley Stadium on Sunday.

Jamie Heaslip will lead Ireland from the No.8 berth and is joined in the backrow by Chris Henry and Jordi Murphy.  Devin Toner is partnered in the second row by Donnacha Ryan while Nathan White, Richardt Strauss and Cian Healy make up the front row.

Eoin Reddan and Ian Madigan link up at halfback with Darren Cave and Jared Payne in the centre while the back three sees Simon Zebo fill the No.15 jersey with Tommy Bowe and Keith Earls in the wing positions.

Among the replacements are Sean Cronin, Jack McGrath, Tadhg Furlong, Paul O’Connell, Sean O’Brien, Conor Murray, Paddy Jackson and Rob Kearney. The Ireland team named is the oldest squad named for a match day in the history of the World Cup.

IRELAND team to play Romania – 27.09.15

Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter

15. Simon Zebo (Cork Con/Munster)
14. Tommy Bowe (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
13. Jared Payne (Ulster)
12. Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
11. Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster)
10. Ian Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster)
9. Eoin Reddan (Old Crescent/Leinster)

8. Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster) captain
7. Chris Henry (Malone/Ulster)
6. Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster)
5. Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster)
4. Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster)
3. Nathan White (Connacht)
2. Richardt Strauss (Old Wesley/Leinster)
1. Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)

16. Sean Cronin (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
17. Jack McGrath (St Mary’s/Leinster)
18. Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster)
19. Paul O’Connell (Young Munster)
20. Sean O’Brien (UCD/Leinster)
21. Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster)
22. Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster)
23. Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster)