Triathlon – Limerick’s Hayes named athlete of the year


THE TRIATHLONM Ireland Annual Awards took place in Dublin on Saturday evening last with over 220 guests in attendance, celebrating an incredibly successful 2015 season in which membership of Triathlon Ireland grew to 10,500 and there was a number of stand out performances by Irish triathletes.

Voted on by members of Triathlon Ireland, the athlete of the year award was taken home by Limerick triathlete, Carolyn Hayes who won the Sprint Triathlon, Standard Triathlon and Aquathlon National Championships.

Asked about her season highlight, Hayes commented “I have to say I’m honoured to be receiving this award. There are some incredible names on this award before me so I’m very thankful for this.”

Elite paratriathlete, Catherine Walsh received the Caroline Kearney Memorial Trophy in recognition of her contribution to the development of the sport. Walsh is aiming to qualify for the Rio Paralympic Games after she burst onto the paratriathlon scene this season, rising to 11th in the world in just her first season.

“It would be an honour to qualify for Rio but the margins are so tight that if we get it right on the day, well just watch out.”

Other winners on the night included The Lost Sheep Triathlon, organised by Cork Triathlon Club which was voted as Race of the Year and Darren Dunne who won the Junior Athlete of the Year award.

Athlete of the Year – Carolyn Hayes

Junior Athlete of the Year – Darrenn Dunne

Para Athlete of the Year – Nicolas Dewalque

Race of the Year – The Lost Sheep Triathlon by Cork Triathlon Club

Coach of the Year – Paddy McLaughlin

Technical Official of the Year – Karl Vekins

Volunteer of the Year – Bernard Hanratty (Piranha Triathlon Club)

Caroline Kearney Memorial Award – Catherine Walsh

Triathlon Ireland Super Series – Aidan Callaghan (male) & Rachel Hawker (female)